We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated & Really Clean!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6681 South Tucson Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #39 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outdated & Really Clean!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Usually I don't stay in this type of hotel but only needed a room for less than 12 hours...so decided to save some money based on the reviews being consistent on this hotel being clean.

GOOD
1) The grounds of the hotel were well maintained
2) The lobby area was really clean but was like walking back in time over 15 years ago.
3) James, the night front-desk manager was very friendly & helpful.
4) Cookies & water was available all day & night.
5) The room & the bathroom was spacious, clean, & quiet (couldn't hear the airplanes).
6) The bed was comfortable.
7) There was a microwave & a good sized refrigerator in the room.
8) Wi-Fi was free!

BAD
The reasons why I could not rate this hotel higher is because
1) The linens (towels & bath cloths) were thread-bare
2) The pillows were small & didn't provided much support, & pillow cases had seen better days.
3) The breakfast was nourishment (bland & didn't offer that much variety as stated by the reviews),
4) The water pressure in the shower on a scale of 10 was a 3.

OTHER
1) The touch-up paint all over the walls was very noticeable.
2) Loose floor tiles in the bathroom
3) The television, microwave, and the refrigerator were positioned in the wrong location. To view the television from the bed & the desk was awkward.
4) The windows shade had a few tiny holes in them
5) The workout area (broom closet) leaves a lot to be desired.

The hotel has a lot of potential and "screams" to be updated into this century.

OVERALL...I would recommend this hotel to the budget conscience who needs a clean place for a quick, overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We will use your feedback to fine tune our operations and hope to beat your expectations the next time your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
54
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for a night as we were in Tucson for 24 hours for a wedding. We would've preferred to stay at the Doubletree down the street, but since the in-laws were here, we opted to stay close. They wanted to stay here because it was less expensive than the Doubletree and included breakfast, but for $10 more and having to venture out for a Starbucks, I think the Doubletree would've been much more worth it.

PROS - Ample parking. Fresh cookies at the front desk, lending library for books, friendly enough staff. Breakfast is complimentary as well. Also, though you're close to the airport, you don't hear the planes.

CONS - Breakfast was not replenished, so it was slim pickins' when we got down. One bagel, no bowls out for cereal/oatmeal, no more batter for the waffles, etc. Also, staff was not as friendly down here as at the front desk.
- Huge bed, but for some reason, had a lot of trouble sleeping. Woke up with back pain in the middle of the night.
- Needs updating. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper and moldy edges.
- The hallway was loud. You can hear everyone walking by. Fortunately, there is a door between the bedroom area and the sitting area, which is closer to the hallway, so eliminates most of the noise when you're sleeping. Unfortunately, the glass partition hadn't been cleaned in a loooong time, which was apparent from all the prints, marks, stains on the door and glass. Makes me wonder what else hasn't been cleaned as well. Also, while this eliminated the hallway noise, it didn't help that the AC unit was in the bedroom closet, and it was the loudest thing (I would've preferred the hallway noise and sound of planes taking off). It was so loud that we opted to turn off the AC and sleep without it. Yes, it was that loud that we would've preferred the heat in Arizona over the noise.

All in all, would we stay here again if we ever find ourselves in Tucson? No. I think there are much better options close by that I'd rather explore before venturing back here.
Would we absolutely refuse to stay here again if we had to? No. It wasn't great, but I've stayed at much worse and paid much more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are glad to see the "pros" that you listed and appreciate the feedback regarding the concerns that you mentioned. We hope to beat your expectations on your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while in Tucson on April 1 & 2. My husband loved the cookies. I loved the room. Clean and well kept. Staff was friendly, breakfast was ample though standard fare you find at almost all hotels with full breakfast. We did not hear any planes taking off or landing. Nice place to return to after a long day at Old Tucson Studios. We will stay here again when we return to Tucson. (Oh yeah, and the best part of this for us was that these rooms were FREE with earned points through Club Carlson).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write this wonderful review! On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to see you the next time you are in Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly welcome, speedy check in, warm cookies, ice water, fresh fruit. Clean room, nice amenities and the beds are SO comfortable. Great night's sleep. We've never been to Tucson so the fighter jets were a surprise in the morning but we were awake so that was no problem. Nice warm and cold choices on the breakfast buffet. Ample and safe parking. Didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool but it looked nice. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be recommending the property to others! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff upon arrival and throughout stay. Had problem with toilet. Called front office and man came to fix it almost immediately.

Free cookies were a treat. Nice cont'l and warm breakfast included. Highly recommend if you need motel near the Tucson airport.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourselves in customer service excellence and are thankful that you took the time to post a great review! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was delicious, and the staff was awesome. I recommend this hotel to all folks visiting Tucson to stay here. The hotel was very clean and in a great location right next to the airport and rental car services.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review about our hotel! We appreciate it and hope to see you again the next time you are in Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived at a very busy time for the Country Inn & Suites as they also had a bike touring group there for the same days in which we were booked. We had a very nice suite and the checking was great with Valorie taking care of us. The cookies are good too! As noted earlier we thought there might be some issues with the large crew on their bikes there, especially for breakfast. However on both mornings, although very busy the staff (Marie) took great pains to keep everything full and to clean up as quickly as possible. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone. Only small issue is the distance from downtown, but then again it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review. We strive for excellence, even when we have large groups and I am happy to hear that we delivered! Please come and see us again the next time you visit Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Address: 6681 South Tucson Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#11 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#39 Family Hotel in Tucson
#39 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our convenient hotel near Tucson International Airport with its prime location near numerous local attractions, this is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. We are ideally situated near the University of Arizona just a short drive from downtown Tucson. Rates include a full hot breakfast buffet, free TUS Airport shuttle service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, an outdoor pool and spa,a business and fitness center, a Read It and Return library, and freshly baked cookies and coffee all day long. Our convenient location combined with our warm hospitality and inviting atmosphere make us the perfect place to stay in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Tucson Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.