We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6681 South Tucson Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
South Elgin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice clean and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites was very nice, comfortable and clean rooms. you could see that you are not staying in a brand new hotel, but everything worked without issue, close to the airport, but very quiet. Breakfast was a step up from what you usually get for a "free" breakfast...usual stuff...waffles, cold cerial, yogurt etc, but with a surprize of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuts and gravy...my only complaint is that they ran out of their fresh cookies for a couple of days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding this hotel! We really appreciate you taking the time to post a reply. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    57
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
70
54
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed 2 night, easy to find, and well situated. Reception spacious, and staff helpful and friendly. Complimentary cookies. Room very clean spacious, with 2 queen size beds, very comfortable, flat screen TV, table and chairs. Coffee making facilities. Bathroom very clean and toiletries provided. Did have pool but didn't use. Breakfast, good included cereals, toast, bacon, scrambled egg, potatoes, bananas, juice and coffee. Free WIFI , would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay! Please come and see us again when your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

With all this high ranked ratings on different platforms, we booked Country Inn at Tucson airport for two nights.
After arrival, we checked the pool. Directly located on the parking lot on the morning-sun backside of the hotel.
The larger pool was murky with a lot of debris in it. Also the stairs looked improvable..
Finally, we didn't swim into the pool. The jacuzzi looked much better, but was really hot.
So, after 2 weeks round trip with daily swimming, no swim today.
The first night turned out to a unpleasant trip.
We had some Itching ants in our room and few in our bed (309, third floor). They were very little, but very itchy. Next morning, we found many of them behind the curtains on the un-vacuumed carpet.
After complaining that on a sunday morning, there was also no friendly reaction from the staff.

We changed the room twice, the second room was very worn with a lot of dust on the furniture, hair on linen, un-vacuumed carpet with pet-hair on it, decorated with a 2inch insect...
Ok, third room. Clean room. Perfect. Apart from that, quite worn with old TV and multi-color walls. But we've sleeped much better.
Breakfast was good, the night-guard very friendly and helpful.
Price and location is good, cleanliness improvable.

I don't understand the high ratings, or something changed after a few good years.
From all visited 15 mid-class hotels this holiday, this country-inn was the least one.

Maybe, they just had a bad september 2012...

There will be no second visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am both shocked and surprised to hear about the issues you faced while at our property. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service. Please contact the General Manager at the property directly so that we can discuss this further. We hope to exceed your expectations upon your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I travel to Tucson two to three times a year and have usually stayed at the La Quinta on Tucson Blvd before, therefore my review will be a comparison of the two. Check in the staff was friendly however it took three tries to find a room that was clean, in all fairness I arrived early and was told they had a new desk clerk and he was having trouble marking the rooms cleaned in their computer system. When I got backed the first night the toilet was plugged and the night clerk handed me a plunger after offering me another room. When I talked to the manager she apologized and said she would talk to him. The breakfast is where Country Inn shines the food was plentiful with a wide variety of options and fresh. The La Quinta just has standard fare. All things considered I would recommend the Country Inn over La Quinta based on their breakfast and friendly staff. I can't forget the chocolate chip cookies available day and night and free use of computer and printer in the lobby. The room is worn but clean very similar to the La Quinta. Overall a great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this response! We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our service! Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

There is not enough space to tell how wonderful our stay was! My sisters and I were in town for a sibling reunion and it was our oldest sisters' 70th birthday! We were so excited! The people were so good to us making us feel like we had known them for years! Our beds were the most comfortable beds we had slept in. I travel alot, and I try to find the nearest County Inns and Suites, because they are awesome. This one was exceptional. We had shuttles from the airport as well as back to the airport. The breakfasts were great (no bacon, and I am a bacon girl) but anything else you could want. We enjoyed the hot tub and the nice swings in the back to just sit and talk! Valerie, Lin, and Kristine and the rest were so friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for a nicer, friendlier place to stay! We will be back in 3 years for my brothers' 70th and I know where we will stay!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was perfect and easy to get to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel!

I have shared your compliments with Lin and Kristine and they were honored that you mentioned them by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at other Carlson places. This airport one needs some attention. The room we stayed in, 125, was generally very clean with the exception of the bath. While tub was clean there was black mold growing around overflow, spigot, and controls. Also at the outside pool, the cirgarette tray was full of old smelly wet damp cigarette butts, the pool needed vacuuming, and the pool side upright chairs at one end were all in need of repair. You couldn't even sit in them. Other than that, the facility was nice, and staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am both shocked and surprised to hear about your concerns regarding our property. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at the hotel was great. The staff was very courteous and responsive. The pool and hot tub were clean and the kids really enjoyed them. The hot breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the room was larger than we expected and clean. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Tucson!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for writing a fantastic review about us! Come and see us again when your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Address: 6681 South Tucson Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#34 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our convenient hotel near Tucson International Airport with its prime location near numerous local attractions, this is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. We are ideally situated near the University of Arizona just a short drive from downtown Tucson. Rates include a full hot breakfast buffet, free TUS Airport shuttle service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, an outdoor pool and spa,a business and fitness center, a Read It and Return library, and freshly baked cookies and coffee all day long. Our convenient location combined with our warm hospitality and inviting atmosphere make us the perfect place to stay in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Tucson Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.