We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, noisy, rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Tucson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Tucson to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Tucson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 West Rudasill Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #44 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dated, noisy, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sitting in my room right now listening to the incredibly noisy housekeeping staff yell to each other back and forth down the hall complaining about the poor tips they have received this morning. I was excited when I booked my trip and saw that there was a Towneplace Suites right in the part of town I wanted to be since I have always liked this chain in the past.

The hotel is old and dated, the halls and room smells like a gallon of Febreeze was spilled somewhere. The matress was springy and uncomfortable and the free breakfast was mostly pre-packaged carbs with only waffles and oatmeal for hot options. Housekeeing ignored my "do not disturb" sign and rang the doorbell at 8:15am (yes, there is a very loud doorbell outside each room) and then laughed and scurried off when I yelled out that I was still sleeping.

I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels for work and needless to say, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misswright505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

So I read the reviews and was a bit worried about what I would find, but the hotel was great. Large rooms with a couch and a bed, AND a kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The bed was comfortable, the hotel was quiet, the pool is smaller than it looks in their photo, but perfectly serviceable. I suppose it is not near downtown, but Tucson is so small, who cares? You're always minutes from anything. Staff was very friendly, helpful. Breakfast was good for an American hotel, but I've gotten spoiled staying at hotels in France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Served my purpose for my two night stay but nothing to write home about. It looks like it's a pretty old property that's been renovated but still looks a bit tired and worn. The rooms are on the small side and they HAVE to do something about the old-style God awful fluorescent lighting that adorns the rooms and corridors. It gives everything a creepy, hospital/sanitarium feel. I couldn't stop wondering if any women had been stabbed to death in the shower at this property by a man dressed like his mother.
The most cheerful part of the property is the tiny pool area.

Let's see, what else?
The free wi-fi suffered from a low signal and was painfully slow, so not much help if you're here on business.

While I normally DETEST the complimentary breakfast (unless it's the buffet breakfast at The Kea Lani in Maui) this place lowered the bar for complimentary breakfast: juice, coffee, selection of cereals, yogurt and waffles (and maybe some bread). Not even the "yellow powder plus hot water equals scrambled eggs" offering. Pretty poor.

This place is not for me. If all you want is a roof over your head and a clean bed, you'll be fine. If you want anything more though, you're probably best to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a lot. The rooms are outdated and need to be caught up with the current level of hotels of this type. They finally update the TV'S nice The wireless is weak at it best. The staff doesn't seem to pay attention to the customer schedule. I would come back from work at 2 to find they just started cleaning the room. And it takes a while for the nasty air freshener to disapate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was centrally located to what I wanted to do in Tucson. The mall was just down the street and there were many restaurants nearby. The front desk has a handy map of the area sights and were very helpful. We were able to check in early. It looked like they just had a remodel and carpet and furnishings looked very new and up to date. The room was well equiped. We were 2 adults and a child and we had plenty of space. There was a full kitchen including a dishwasher and full fridge. Perfect for a longer stay. The bed was great and the sofa bed was also comfortable. There were many nice pillows and adequate linens including towels. The breakfast had almost everything. Alas, I miss the cream cheese danish you used to always see at the buffet breakfast everywhere. I guess this is a move to make it more healthy. I suppose everyone is doing it. But there were still muffins, 6 kinds of cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, make-your-own waffle, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, stale bagels - my only problem here.
There was a nice pool that we also enjoyed on our stay.

Room Tip: There seemed to be a lot of noise from the corridor, next time I would pick a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oimabzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Towne Place Suites was ok. I was there for 8 days for the Gem Show show. The breakfast was adequete. The room was nicely set up with a queen bed , living room area, and kitchen with full oven. The carpet was dirty as it made my white socks dirty. I wanted to use the laundry facilities one day and one of the dryers or washers was always broken. Finally I got an open washer and when I needed a dryer I could not get one. I finally had to remove the other people's clothes and put them on the counter so I could use a dryer. The hotel management should be monitoring this. People were leaving their clothes in there for hours after they were dry. The elevator was pretty fast and the hallways looked clean. I could hear kids running up and down the hallways in the early morning. The bed was comfortable enough but somewhat hard. I had to really check the dishes before I used them as there was food on a fork and plate that I had to clean before using. I guess the maidstaff does not do a great job cleaning the dishes. The air conditioner did not always work when I wanted it to. I had to turn it off for a while for it to "recover" before it would work again, if it would work at all. Very temperamental!The one girl at the front desk that was short with long dark hair and of mexican descent seemed like she hated her job. Never once did she crack a smile or greet me. When I asked a question, she seemed put out and very short. Never did she offer any further information. There is a shelf above the toilet in the bathrooms and I placed some toiletries up there. Apparently the maid knocked everything off one day and I found things on the floor behind the toilet and one of my expensive makeup brushes must have fallen in the wastebasket and she threw it away without checking to see what may have fallen in there. That was dissapointing! The printer in the lobby was " out of order" the whole time I was there. I had pre-arranged for a late checkout of 1:00pm being that I am a Marriott reward member and they were calling my room asking me when I was leaving at 12:45. As soon as I took some things to the car, they stopped usage of my room key so I could not get back into the room to ckeck it. This was before I had even checked out of the hotel and prior to 1:00! I was not very happy with my stay here. For a Marriott I expected better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookielaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Towne Suites in north Tucson was very clean and the staff very friendly. I was only there one night for a baseball tournament with my son and everything was perfect. I would surely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GALL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
8.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Williams Centre
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tucson

Address: 405 West Rudasill Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tucson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tucson Hotel Tucson
Tucson Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing