We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Daze

Sunny Daze
4980 S Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85706
+1 520-295-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,701 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Café
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall this was a nice hidden gem we stumbled upon. I got steak and eggs for seven bucks. The service was ok in that refills were a bit slow but the value made up for it. Don't forget to try the Sunny puffs!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A very good surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I ate breakfast here on our way back home because it was near the hotel that we stayed at and it had relatively good reviews. I was not expecting much, but it was a very good surprise.

I was caught off guard by the big pink flamingo out front (it reminded me of the Baltimore restaurant on Kitchen Nightmares). We walked in and I was pleasantly surprised by the island theme (in the middle of the Tucson desert!). It was a tacky, but fun, island theme.

In terms of food, the food was also very good. I had the biscuits and gravy combo, my wife had the waffle combo, and my daughter had the pancakes and eggs. All of it was very good, including my chocolate milk. The Sunny Daze buns were also very good. All of the food is also extremely cheap (the buns were free).

My only complaint is that it is kind of in middle of nowhere. However, this is a great place for breakfast in terms of atmosphere and food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oh my, their Sunny daze buns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great service, like the island decor. I never tried Arbuckle coffee before but love it. I can actually drink it black, no problem. They have such great Sunny Daze buns. Mmmm. And they are so generous, they keep coming back to add more buns!! How am I to keep my figure? haha.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We ran upon this little joint in our visit. We ordered the breakfast and boy were we in for a treat the portions are huge and the coffee was really good. The waitress was very nice and the place was very clean. We will definitely be back. The sunny puffs can be very addictive but after the pancakes we had no room for dessert.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Popular local restaurant is worth a trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I had the poblano chili omelette, which was good but a little dry, along with hashbrowns loaded with onions and cheese. My husband had the turkey walnut berry salad, which was large and he said very good. Friendly servers do a good job, and from tasting a sample of one of their sunny puffs, I can see how they could become addictive. The display of other pastries such as the brownies, cinnamon rolls, and flan, looked very inviting. Cute tropical decor with lots of flamingos helped make this place a bit unique for this area. Clearly very popular with the locals, and I can see why. It's charming.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Daze also viewed

 

Been to Sunny Daze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Daze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.