We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience. Great blend of new, clean, upscale and affordability” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Tucson University to your Saves list
Aloft Tucson University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
San Ramon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice experience. Great blend of new, clean, upscale and affordability”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a real solid 4 stars. Very nice, compact hotel designed for the upscale traveler seeking a cost efficient hotel with practical amenities. Love the look and feel of the place. Very nice food menu – the best selection of appetizers. Very good Sangria, Berry Salad. All affordable. A very nice surprise for a smaller hotel. Fresh, smells great, very much like staying at a loft with very nice service. Adjacent to the University of Arizona, but still feels off to the side. Not a fault of Aloft except for location selection. Not the best place to walk with the gas station and 7-11 close by. So travel wisely. This Aloft will certainly make it a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: Don't forget to buy something from the bar/informal dining area. We really liked the food! Food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
29
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I went to go to the hospital which is blocks away so I chose this hotel the light were complicated the pool was small and cold. Also we were charged 3 different rates 3 different times and are still waiting for our money back definitely don't recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We regret to hear your stay was not what you were expecting. We understand that our chic, trendy vibe will not satisfy everyones' tastes, but we do strive to pride a superior level of customer service as our staff is dedicated to the needs of our guests. Your billing questions have been handled with same level of customer service and please feel free to reach out to our General Manager directly, if you have any additional questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent two nights at the Aloft. We took the advice of several other travelers and asked for a room on the parking lot side. It was better to view the trash dumpsters than hear the street noise. We were on the second floor away from the pool. The hotel was fairly empty and we requested a higher room but were told that there were none available. We suspect that they were doing this for the consolidating the housekeeping services. The room and bath area were large and very clean.
We also brought pillows based on others advice and suggest that if you like a flat pillow, to do the same. There are several places to eat just around the corner and we used them for our breakfasts.
The hotel has been totally renovated in the last year or so and seems European in style.
I can see that during a busy time, that noise might be a problem but we had no trouble. The residential area around the hotel is historic and worth walking around in.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing Speedway Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This Hotel is very well located near the University. I really like the green choice with the $5 reimbursement, however the ladies at the desk did not explain it well and we did not know how to do it till the next day, so we lost the opportunity to contribute to this program. I did not like the huge bowls in the bathroom, they splash water everywhere and they are not practical. Breakfast is terrible, you have to pay and the quality is not so good. Be aware of the scam with the taxis. They claim they have a good rate from the Hotel to the airport (which is $32) but we only paid $25 on the way in, so call yourself the taxi driver and make sure they don't overcharge you. Rooms are very noisy, specially the ones facing the Speedway Rd.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room that faces Speedway, it is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not the reception that one hopes for when hosting friends and business acquaintances. The hotel had no manager with whom to discuss the situation, just students running the place. No manager at checkout, 8:15 am on Monday, either! Staff had little training and no idea of what "Hospitality" means. Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and the reservation as well as check-in was messed up.(I had telephoned in January to verify that our reservations were as emailed to the hotel and was assured that things were fine. This was a prepaid, non-refundable rate.)
First question asked from reception was "When are you leaving ?" No smiles, no greeting, no welcome. Rooms were not ready although it was 45 minutes past check-in time of 3:00pm. No explanation of the services available, when reservation was finally straightened out. We went to our rooms only to discover the electronic keys didn't work. No apologies, only blame to us for having "changed our minds so much". Room decor dark and gloomy. Minimalist to the point of ridiculousness. One small gooseneck lamp on desk was only light from which to read. Recessed lighting was ambient lighting, nothing you could read by or even locate the plugs for electronics. No safety bars in walk-in glass walled shower area (no tub). Only plus: complimentary bottled water.

Room Tip: No encouragement for you to stay here. It's convenient for University business or game.Staff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We appreciate your feedback thank you for sharing. Your comments have been shared with our team and the appropriate action has been taken to ensure an experience such as the one you described is not experienced in the future. We are always looking for new ways to create the best experience possible for our guests and we hope you will give us another try in the future so that we can provide you with the superior experience and service Aloft Tucson University strives to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had some flowers and some bears delivered to the hotel for my girlfriend and children. Ashley did a great job having them delivered to the room and fielding my many calls. The florist did not deliver a part of the order and she was instrumental in having them there the next day. Thank you very much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Quick jaunt to UA campus for a college tour. Very close to university and fast food options.

There are 3 things that I need in a hotel:
They must be clean. Aloft room was clean, sleek and simple!
They must have comfortable beds. I slept great!
They must have good water pressure in the shower. Our room fell a little short with this, but I've had worse!

I'm probably a little older than the demographic they are going for, but my 18 yr old son was quite comfortable with the purple lights in the elevator, pool table in the lobby and overall modern atmosphere. It felt very euro/ikea meets Four Points.

We were there for a very short time (10 hours total) so I can't tell about the amenities although they looked comparable to the rest of the hotel (not high end but modern and functional).

As a new SPG gold member, I expected that I would have the late checkout extended to me automatically. The front desk person was very polite but told me I had to call down in the morning. Not wanting to deal with it and knowing we'd be short on time anyway, I didn't. Not a big deal this time, but it might be an issue in the future.

Little things like the alarm clock (although cool looking) did not function correctly and it looked like someone had thrown pencils into the ceiling (I couldn't tell if it was supposed to look that way or if it needed repair). I am able to overlook these things... it would probably bother some people.

Overall, I would stay here again for a short trip and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Address: 1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#33 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tucson University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.