We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Aloft” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 13 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another Aloft”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Well, I am not a huge fan of Aloft hotles. They are all very similar - some better managed than others.

As all Aloft I have been to, this one is a glorified budget hotel: limited services and amenities, cheaply built building. My room was near the elevator and was bothered all night by hallway traffic - poor soundproofing. The hotel is right on a very busy boulevard. My room was facing the street side - this made it very noisy.

This said, this property seemed well managed, nice staff, very clean and well maintained.

It has free underground parking, good free Internet connection, a small outside pool in the above ground parking lot, the usual Aloft bar and food pantry.

I was surprised that the parking elevator from the underground could get you straight to the room floors without any keycard control. I question the security of this.

My credit card was charged with abnormal fees, that got corrected after I contacted the hotel's accounting dept.

All services are within a short drive distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel’s amenities and friendly staff. The safety and comfort of our guests is our main priority and we can assure you we have taken all the necessary measures to ensure the security of our hotel is well maintained. Thank you again for your review and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
14
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gleeson. AZ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Newly remodeled hotel, was Sheraton prior, this hotel is beautiful. From the minute you walk in the open lobby, sitting and bar areas are very bright and uplifting. The check in was very quick, staff friendly and helpful.

The room was super clean and spacious, bed very comfortable. The layout of the room was well thought out, they use every inch of space. Rooms are not large but the design makes it very comfortable.

The only negative would be the lack of closet/drawers for storage of clothing. If you are only staying a few days this place is perfect, longer stay could be a challenge on where to put things. Overall and excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view, higher floor. Even though it faces busy street the rooms are very quiet and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed two nights Memorial day weekend 2013. This is the second converted Aloft I have stayed in versus the usual new construction Aloft Hotels. The room layout was quite nice--wall of glass down room entry.

Bathroom had toilet and shower separated from sink--like that. Bathroom was not cramped like some of the new constructions Aloft Hotels I have stayed in. The very friendly Michael at the front desk graciously calmed my fears about noise (there is a university nearby.) I was hoping it was quiet season since school was out. It was quiet enough. Had a room on the 4th floor facing the street--nice view of distant mountains.

Beds were comfortable, patio was huge and nicely empty between 6AM and 8AM, pool was big enough with cold water--good for hot desert environment. Decor was Aloft standard with colorful lobby with more soothing shades in rooms. Coffee machine in lobby was my very good friend as usual. Wish I could have taken it home with me.

Pluses: underground parking--kept car cool, I like that.
Central location was close to restaurants and sites that were within a 15 minute drive in any direction.
All the staff, which were all guys the weekend I was there, were pleasant and professional. This will become my go-to hotel for travel to Tucson.

Room Tip: Ask the staff if there is a possibly noisy function going on during your stay and request a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are delighted to hear we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Aloft Tucson University prides itself on providing guests with an exceptional experience and we look forward to serving you during your future travel to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed there overnight on a trip to see family on 05/26 to 05/27/13. The room was wonderful, clean, and quiet. The black out blinds were awesome so I definitely had a good nights sleep. I had no real complaints other than the ketchup at the breakfast was watered down. I would/will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful change from the dreary Sheraton Four Points that it used to be. The rooms are clean and contemporary, the Bar is fantastic with excellent customer service, and the prices are competitive enough that it is worth it to leave the hotels near the airport area for this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the lower price for the room by doing the "buy now" option if you can. Also, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our modern hotel and exceptional staff. We strive to provide all our guests with the most enjoyable experience possible. Thank you again and we hope to see you for all your future visits to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

They renovated the old four points in to an Aloft. We got there and at first was worried it was a little too cool for us. Cinco de Mayo party going on in the outdoor pool area was quite loud. We dropped off our stuff and went to dinner. To our surprise when we got back it was all gone. The people and loud music. The rooms are nice, the lighting takes a while to figure out. Strange switch placement between the bathroom 'divider'. A sliding door to provide privacy from the shower and toilet. Also the thermostat was a more complicated than it needed to be. My home thermostat doesn't have that many options. Once we got past these little quirks our 4 day stay was nice and quiet. Excellent location right on the corner of the University. Bruegger's Bagels is on the same block as well as two ice cream shops. Underground parking was also nice instead of baking the car all day. We will definitely be back when in Tucson again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. As a green initiative we have by the front door one switch that will turn off/on all the lighting in the guest room. If you leave the switch in the ON position at the front door then you can control everything by its own switch. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tucson so that we may provide you with the same exceptional service and relaxing stay. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This Aloft just opened last month so everything is clean and new. The staff were nice and helpful and did a great job of juggling the crowd there for the Uof A graduation. The location is great with lots of places, including a Bruegger's Bagel right behind it. Enjoyed the pool and the work out room was busy but appeared to have room for them all. There is a seating area outside in the back of the hotel which was nice to be able to sit and talk quietly. My only complaint, which might be a plus to others, was a band on Friday evening in the lobby. The music was good just too loud to be able to talk. My sister's complaint was there was only 1 hook in the bath. Would stay here again but our Tuscon days are done.

Room Tip: Get above the 2nd floor if you do not want to hear and feel the band on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Also Known As:
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson
Tucson Four Points
Address: 1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Tucson
#48 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tucson University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aloft Tucson University to your Saves list