We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Tucson University to your Saves list
Aloft Tucson University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great New Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This Aloft just opened last month so everything is clean and new. The staff were nice and helpful and did a great job of juggling the crowd there for the Uof A graduation. The location is great with lots of places, including a Bruegger's Bagel right behind it. Enjoyed the pool and the work out room was busy but appeared to have room for them all. There is a seating area outside in the back of the hotel which was nice to be able to sit and talk quietly. My only complaint, which might be a plus to others, was a band on Friday evening in the lobby. The music was good just too loud to be able to talk. My sister's complaint was there was only 1 hook in the bath. Would stay here again but our Tuscon days are done.

Room Tip: Get above the 2nd floor if you do not want to hear and feel the band on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
35
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel, great location! We came for U of A graduation weekend, and really enjoyed the contemporary look of the hotel and the room. The WXYZ bar downstairs was cool and the bartenders were very nice. I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

enjoyed the clean rooms. Outstanding customer service. Was pleasantly surprised by the Entertainment at the x_y_z bar !!!! Keep it up , see you next time I'm in Tucson. front desk was also very helpful made it easy to get a cab, and gave great suggestions for places to go

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate your review-thanks for sharing! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the live entertainment in our W XYZ Bar and hope that you will join us again during your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the new Aloft for graduation. Great location within walking distance to University. Nice clean, big rooms. Very fun and welcoming atmosphere. Excellent food and beverage offerings in the lobby...loved the capuccino machine! Great outdoor patio to enjoy breakfast and beanbag toss. Very friendly staff...would definitely make a return trip to Aloft!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear to enjoyed your stay. Our team is dedicated to providing all our guests with a superior experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went down to Tucson and was able to get a room at the new Aloft. I was invited down by my son for Dads weekend at UofA and was excited to check the place out. The room was very large and state of the art and the walk in shower and bathroom were extremely large and thankfully the King bed was extremely comfortable. I was also impressed with the quality fitness facility and equipment. Bar area was busy and fun with parents and college kids and I will say the hotel staff was extreemely polite and kept the place immaculate. One thing, the Elevators moved a little slow, if you can speed them up that would be great. I have stayed in Tucson many times over the last few years while the kids have been in college,The Aloft is now my hotel for Tucson.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor or above for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

rooms are hip, bathrooms very nice. there is no 'how to' guide in the room; I couldn't get the bathroom lites on, called front desk: 'this is a green room, all switches must be in on position'. not a pleasant prospect if you have to use the bathroom in the night, to turn on all the lights! when looking for a plug to charge my phone (by the way, all the switches must be on position just to activate the outlets), I discoved a switch I hadn't seen before. Lo and behold, it only controlled one light. searching the rest of the room, I found all the others; it seems just the 3 main switches by the door must remain in on position at all times for any lights/outlets to work. couldn't the front desk tell me that. other than that the lobby is small, and mostly a bar. hallways are kind of cheesy, but clean. i was able to walk back and forth to graduation, about a mile each way. fortunately it was only 80 degrees.

Room Tip: from previous read tips, I chose a room up and away from lobby. it was quiet despite the band playi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. As a green initiative we have one switch by the front door that will turn off/on all the lighting in the guest room. That way when leaving the room you just have to flip one switch and all the lights go out. If you leave the switch in the ON position at the front door then you can control everything by its own switch. For example, if it is in the ON position and you want turn off all the lights except one you can do so. Each light has its own control. We apologize for the confusion and have shared this with our front desk to better inform guests prior to checking in. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to see you again for all your future stays in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The proximity to the University of Arizona and the football stadium is fabulous. We walked to the graduation ceremony in no time.

We stayed two nights, Thursday & Friday. Admittedly it was graduation weekend but the noise was horrible. It is a tossup what was worse - the noise or the beds! For me it was like sleeping on a rock with a hard plastic sheet under me. Friday morning I found the hard plastic sheet, it was the mattress protector. The hotel is remodeled but this mattress protector is so hard and stiff. Who in the heck can sleep on this mattress protector comfortably? I totally remade the bed without the mattress protector for the second night as I had to get some sleep. It made a difference (I got rid of the hard plastic sheet) but the mattress was still uncomfortable.

Overall the bathroom and King Room looked nice and was definitely visually pleasing. That is until you actually had two people trying to use the bathroom area and found that the area was not functional. The sink area with hairdryer, curtained closet, closest storage cubes, coffee maker, fridge were in one area and it was not practical. When finished with the hairdryer your choices are; put the hairdryer on the valuable counter space; try to wind the cord up like it was and put it back on the hanging hook; or end up dumping it on the floor! So by now you are aware that we found this area was not user friendly.

Not sure if the magazine rack was intended for a towel rack but that is what we used it for putting up the hand towels. Then you dripped water from the sink across to the towel. The hand towels are actually left in the shower/toilet area and the face washers are left by the hand sink - why? Are you meant to use the hand towels in the shower? No it is for appearances! The toilet and shower are in a separate enclosed area.

As for using Bliss cosemetics I was not impressed at all. For those of you who have fine hair & need a good conditioner please be aware that the shampoo/conditioner is an all-in-one. Thankfully I had some leave in conditioner on hand otherwise I would not have been able to even comb thru my hair.

Our room faced the street and this caused a lot of other noise beside that created by inconsiderate humans. The pedestrian crossing/traffic lights at the corner of Speedway & Campbell went straight to the room as did any vehicle noise. Seriously did they forget any sound proofing? The two windows in the room were nice, let in lots of natural light and the blinds shut out the light at night. Turning all room lights off with one switch at the door is a secure & welcomed green addition to any hotel room.

The bedside clock had the wrong time but then we found it wasn’t even plugged in. Is this left for the hotel guest to set and plug in?

Friday night sometime after Midnight we called to complain about the noise. The front desk said they would send security up to the third floor vicinity of our room. The noise didn't die down for a long time. We do not think security ever turned up!

We did not eat at the hotel. When making reservations I could had added breakfast for $50 per night but that was totally unreasonable for me. It would have been nice to have a drink at the bar but didn’t manage it. Breakfast the first morning was at Bruegger's bagels and the second morning Oatmeal at McDonalds. Both of these places are in walking distance and we didn’t even pay half a quarter of what the hotel wanted to charge.

The hotel staff were great and the reservations call center good as well but they couldn’t make up for the uncomfortable bed, noise & the inconvenient sink area. This hotel was an old Sheraton and they tore the guts out of it and totally redid it. However they seemed to forget about putting in any sound proofing.

Underground parking beside location was another of the hotels advantages. It was not over 100 degrees yet but for my husband this was a bonus. The ground floor bathrooms were very contemporary.

If location & underground parking make a difference, you use ear plugs when you sleep and there is only one of you to use the bathroom area - then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Not sure if there are good rooms? Maybe on the other side of Speedway; not on the third floor due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not the experience you had hoped for. Thank you for bringing to our attention the noise level. It was a busy, celebration weekend but will share with our staff the importance of responding to noise complaints in a more timely manner. In regard to the uncomfortable mattress, we are looking into the mattress protector issue in the room you stayed in. As for breakfast, we do offer a variety breakfast options in re:fuel from hot breakfast sandwiches, bagels and toast, hot and cold cereal to fruit, yogurt parfaits, coffee, juices and more for a cost that is competitive with other breakfast options in the area. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and modern design and sincerely hope you give us another try during your next visit to Tucson so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service and experience we pride ourselves on. Thank you and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Address: 1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#33 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tucson University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.