We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Cactus Inn

Save Saved
You added Copper Cactus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Copper Cactus Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   225 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Longview, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had made a reservation online with one of the major booking agencies. We asked for a room with 2 beds for 3 people. When we arrived they did not have one so they gave us 2 rooms for the original price quoted. The area was very quiet and in a safe neighborhood. This an older motel, but newly painted and very clean. The beds were queen size and comfortable, large showers. The only objection I had was not having coffee or tea in the rooms or the office, and there was none within walking distance. They offered good cable TV and good air conditioners.

Room Tip: Call ahead even if you book a room from another site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The overall location wasn't so loud or terrible, however the pictures they have online definitely show something much more luxorious then they actually are. I'm going to say those photos are at least 10 yrs old! There was no coffee maker, no port for internet, no in room work desk! These were definitely apts turned into a motel. Our room smelled horrible, it was supposed to be a non smoking room however the room smelled of nothing but old cigarette smoke! The shower head was very low, my husband being 6 foot had a hard time showering. The decor and furniture must have been as old as the building. The kitchen was in horrible shape. Apparently this place is located right up the street from "Miracle Mile" which is where the hookers hang out. I just definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, maybe except for someone who needs a cheap place to live...our neighboring room was occupied by someone who paod weekly to live there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Meadows, Pa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My business partner and I visit Tucson every year and we stayed at numerous motels. All we did was sleep there. The owners are very nice to us, and we would stay there again. For the people that do not like the place go some place else and pay 4 to 5 times more. We do not travel 3,000 miles to live in a motel room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I booked true expedia . Had to pay at checking in 1/3 more than agreed.
Looks old and no maintenace dirty...
Owners/managers not nice did not wane help.

I called expedia and thank god they give me a coupon to compensate.

I travel hole the time and stsy in manny budget hotels, this id one of the wurst ever been

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in it was like a nightmare.

This place makes a motel 6 a five star. Everything was either cheap, broken, filthy. I walked around the room and bath in sandals it was so yuck!

Disgusting, outdated, filthy and would never touch the pool, EWWW!

Checked out early. Beware they don't refund.

Will never return avoid this place like the plague.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Worst motel ever! Dirty rooms,mold/mildew in bathroom, grease build-up in kitchen, torn flooring, no hot water, air conditioning doesn't work very well, wii-fi didn't work, had to ask them several times for pool access, pool full of dead bugs & bees coming out of cracks in the cement. Motel very out-dated, junk appliances all over lot...the list goes on & on..
We checked out days early, cockroaches & other bugs in room!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

History well kept! I do not know about the other reviews but I have been coming to this hotel for many years. I make a trip once every year with a large group and always stay here. The staff is very friendly and nice and the rooms are clean. We love the grass and garden area they have by the pool especially in the summer time it is a great spot to sit at night. The place is very quiet as well. I always keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copper Cactus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Cactus Inn

Address: 225 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Copper Cactus Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Copper Cactus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Cactus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.