We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very CHEAP motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Cactus Inn

Save Saved
You added Copper Cactus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Cactus Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   225 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 127 hotels in Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very CHEAP motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The overall location wasn't so loud or terrible, however the pictures they have online definitely show something much more luxorious then they actually are. I'm going to say those photos are at least 10 yrs old! There was no coffee maker, no port for internet, no in room work desk! These were definitely apts turned into a motel. Our room smelled horrible, it was supposed to be a non smoking room however the room smelled of nothing but old cigarette smoke! The shower head was very low, my husband being 6 foot had a hard time showering. The decor and furniture must have been as old as the building. The kitchen was in horrible shape. Apparently this place is located right up the street from "Miracle Mile" which is where the hookers hang out. I just definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, maybe except for someone who needs a cheap place to live...our neighboring room was occupied by someone who paod weekly to live there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Meadows, Pa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My business partner and I visit Tucson every year and we stayed at numerous motels. All we did was sleep there. The owners are very nice to us, and we would stay there again. For the people that do not like the place go some place else and pay 4 to 5 times more. We do not travel 3,000 miles to live in a motel room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I booked true expedia . Had to pay at checking in 1/3 more than agreed.
Looks old and no maintenace dirty...
Owners/managers not nice did not wane help.

I called expedia and thank god they give me a coupon to compensate.

I travel hole the time and stsy in manny budget hotels, this id one of the wurst ever been

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in it was like a nightmare.

This place makes a motel 6 a five star. Everything was either cheap, broken, filthy. I walked around the room and bath in sandals it was so yuck!

Disgusting, outdated, filthy and would never touch the pool, EWWW!

Checked out early. Beware they don't refund.

Will never return avoid this place like the plague.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Worst motel ever! Dirty rooms,mold/mildew in bathroom, grease build-up in kitchen, torn flooring, no hot water, air conditioning doesn't work very well, wii-fi didn't work, had to ask them several times for pool access, pool full of dead bugs & bees coming out of cracks in the cement. Motel very out-dated, junk appliances all over lot...the list goes on & on..
We checked out days early, cockroaches & other bugs in room!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

History well kept! I do not know about the other reviews but I have been coming to this hotel for many years. I make a trip once every year with a large group and always stay here. The staff is very friendly and nice and the rooms are clean. We love the grass and garden area they have by the pool especially in the summer time it is a great spot to sit at night. The place is very quiet as well. I always keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

Short version:
Uncomfortable room
Small bathroom with non-working shower
Cockroaches
Unapologetic staff
They never even let us know when check out time was, a lot of things were not communicated


The Copper Cactus Inn was the cheapest motel in Tucson. Now, I'm not usually squeamish about cheap motels. I know the drill, bring in my own blankets and soap and whatnot; but this place takes the cake. None of the reviews for this place, giving it a mediocre if not great-for-the-price rating, indicated the lo(oooo)w level of quality here.

Maybe the room wasn't carpeted because it was a smoking room (?) and maybe the guy we saw scoping out our van in the parking area at midnight was just a lost paper boy...Either way the bathroom was extremely small which gives one a good view of the cockroach circus crawling out of the sink drain.

The most frustrating part was the shower. Yes, even if my husband was able to put up with the low and awkward water pressure the drain refused to drain! The small 2" step down into the shower quickly filled as the drain refused to do its job and instead would have flooded the entire room.

We discovered this problem at around midnight and, as the owners didn't let us know how to get a hold of them, decided it was best to wait to talk to them about it in the morning and not go banging on doors in the middle of the night. This was extremely disappointing though because the entire reason we got a room in the first place was to shower after 2 long Weeks of hard work at the gem show.

The next morning the owners were everything but understanding or apologetic and refused to give even a partial refund for our two night stay. I will never give them my money again nor would I ever recommend anyone else to either.

Yuck.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Cactus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Cactus Inn

Address: 225 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Copper Cactus Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Copper Cactus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Cactus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.