We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is location enough?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 North Granada Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 7+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“is location enough?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Convenient location for getting places in and around Tucson but in a rather strange neighborhood. We stayed three nights in an accessible room that appeared to be well-equipped at first glance but which had several failings in actual use--for example, the shower chair was rickety. Also the handicapped parking space was not adjacent to our room. All the staff people we interacted with were helpful and friendly, but don't expect the restaurant to have all items available (or your waitress to know what is available), but the food we eventually had for dinner one night was well prepared and and of good quality. The breakfast buffet was quite good, with many choices of food ranging from yogurt, fruit, and cereal to good sausage, biscuits, and gravy (but avoid the scrambled eggs). As other reviewers have said, this hotel needs renovating (although we were not in the tower but rather in one of the side buildings). Didn't try the pool--we were too busy--but it looked nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for staying at Hotel Tucson. We appreciate your comments. I will personally follow up on your comments regarding the menu items availability. We should always have every menu item available at all times. I will discuss this with the Chef to ensure we always have the full menu available. We are still in progress of updating the property. New elevators, carpets and paint are in progress now. As always we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you when you return to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    85
    41
    44
    62
See reviews for
67
70
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rosemead, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

we stayed there for 3 days. I gotta tell you it was awful. The rooms in what they called the tower were a joke. They mislead you by giving the room a fancy name but trust me when I tell you that was the only fancy thing. There front desk wasn't rude but they certainly weren't friendly. housekeeping was a nightmare we had a housekeeper who couldnt even speak English, tried reporting this to her supervisor she wasn't much better. This is a filthy hotel and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We have received your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Tucson City Center. We apologize we did meet your expectations. We are reviewing your comments with the entire team to ensure we provide top notch service and cleanliness to each and every guest. We have room for improvement and will work diligently to improve our guest service and exceed every guests expectations. We do have a wonderful property that is spacious and clean with staff that truly do care and will go above and beyond to make every guests stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in the older, nondescript looking building called The Tower. Where to begin on the issues with this place? Booked a room that sounded fancy: The Lincoln Presidential Jacuzzi Suite. The room was like a parody from a '70s adult film. The carpet had holes in it. The fold out sofa in the living room was old and the bed was old school, fold out bed lumpy and uncomfortable. The coffee pot was missing. The door to the room was stuck and one had to push it very hard to get it to open, every time. The bedroom featured a very nice, comfortable king bed with great pillows. But the jacuzzi was so old and the general smell of the room was so moldy and musty that the overall effect was just seedy and gross. We opened the balcony doors and left them open for a couple hours hoping to air the room out. The shower was low flow as many are in Tucson, but this one was incredibly low flow, like a trickle. The temperature of the water fluctuated wildly at times. The bathtub drain was slow. The wall heater in the living room didn't work. There was one working elevator that was incredibly slow and the stairwell was absolutely, unacceptably filthy and dark. There were a few good things. The front desk staff is very friendly and competent. The breakfast buffet is great. Our 6 year old had a good time in the pool and the landscaping is beautiful. The view from the filthy balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard was great. But the rooms, hallways, stairwells, elevator and common areas of this hotel need complete and total renovation. All carpets need to be ripped out and replaced, no smoking regs need to be enforced, walls need painting, lighting and electricity needs a complete overhaul, windows need to be replaced, plumbing needs to be in better working order, furniture and fixtures need replacement and updating, housekeeping needs to have an increased staff. In the meantime, unless there are renovated rooms that are much cleaner and less smelly, I would recommend you avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, be sure to ask for a room that has been completely renovated and refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We have received your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Tucson. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We are 95% complete on the new elevators install.They are quiet and faster than previous elevators. We are also installing new carpet in our suites over the next few weeks as well. I will personally address the cleanliness issues you observed with the housekeeping department so we provide a clean consistent property to our guests.
We are working on improving our guest service and product to better serve out guests.
We update our suites year round with ongoing new installations of flat screen TV's, framed artwork, chrome fixtures, tile, paint, carpet, telephones and more. We always ask if you experience any issues during your stay that you report them to the desk so we can resolve it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 12 days in February. We were very well impressed. We started in a most spacious two room unit, which we really enjoyed with all the room and amenities, but unfortunately such units do not have accessible showers, and that is what we really needed. So we switched to an accessible king bed unit, which worked well. It did not have the extra space, but the room was spacious and there was a microwave and fridge, which we used. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked well.
We particularly enjoyed the huge, clean pool with relaxing music playing throughout the day. The fragrance of orange blossoms from the orange and blossom laden trees wafted though the area, too.
We enjoyed the complimentary drinks and breakfast; the biscuits were especially good.
The staff was always most accommodating and friendly.
Also, the location is most convenient, close to downtown and near main roads to various places in and around Tucson.
The only cons we experienced were a lack of towels at the pool and a mal-functioning dryer n the laundry room, both of which were quickly taken care of by the staff.
We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you do not need an accessible room, ask for one in the Tower facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We truly appreciate your business! I will pass your review on to all staff who all work very hard to ensure we exceed guests expectations. We hope to see you again when you return to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I really really want to like it here. The lobby, grounds and pool are beautiful, it's centrally located and the staff seem friendly if a little disinterested. The rooms are a great size and the bed was comfortable. As others have mentioned, upgrading needs to be done but I understand that's a huge undertaking in these economic times.
So...I only arrived yesterday and I do have some concerns. My free shuttle took over an hour and a half to arrive after 4 phone calls to the hotel (the final one saying the driver never got the first 3 messages!). The driver, Alex, was great! When I did get to the hotel, they had no record of my booking so check-in took much longer than was necessary (thankfully they had a room). My biggest concern tho' was 2 charges to my credit card this morning! They had told me they would hold the card for incidentals but they also charged me the full amount of my stay which had already been paid in full!! They reassured me that this was in error and had been corrected once they realized but that charge will not be reversed for several days! Argggh!
I have 4 more nights here and am looking forward to some great sightseeing. Will update later...

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I will personally look into this matter and will personally resolve any concerns. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. It is our goal to provide the utmost customer service. Please ask for me when you go to the desk and I will personally assist you. Kind regards, Charles Wetegrove, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room! For the price it was very nice to have a mini apartment style room especially with our 2 kids. We had no problems with anything in our room either as other reviews have stated. Of course it's not high end but it was perfect for us. The breakfast was awesome! The workers were very nice and the pool was great too! Our room was nicely cleaned everyday and everything changed out. The grounds were pretty and gave room for our kids to walk around and play. Don't book through expedia, I actually found it was cheaper through their own website.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager85701, General Manager at Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
From the entire team...Thank you for choosing Hotel Tucson for your accomodations. We know there are many choices and are pleased you stayed with us! We look forward to serving you and family upon your return to Tucson! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort

Address: 475 North Granada Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > El Presidio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business and leisure travel, we set a new standard among Tucson hotels for suite accommodations, free amenities and superior service in the Downtown Tucson/Presidio Art District with beautiful mountain views. Enjoy nearby UA, Convention Center, Medical Center, golf courses, dining, spectacular shopping and exciting sports events around the Tucson area. Suite Luxury for Less with Cloud 9 Beds & Bedding and Free: Airport Shuttle, Hot Full Breakfast, WiFi, Evening Social Hour & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tucson City Center Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tucson City Center Conference Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.