We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy, more then I need.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Del Sol Resort

Save Saved
You added Casino Del Sol Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casino Del Sol Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 hotels in Tucson
South East Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very classy, more then I need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The place was beautiful upon driving up. I had to ask the valet where exactlly was the hotel entrance. When I found the lobby which was next to a bar, your already absorbing the smoke from the ajoined casino. Upon checking in I was told that my credit card would be charged more then the basic fee and will be credited back after check out. That left an uneasy feeling. After parking in the secure parking garge I had to enter my family through part of the casino and walk in front of the lobby to get to the elevator door to the rooms. So if you have kids they to will smell the smoke. Once upstairs however it is smoke free and clean. The rooms are an amazing site with clean sheets. The bath room is alltogether no separate tolite . We did find a couple of hairs on the restroom floor. The shower is nice and the beds are great . The price was more then the others around and the drive is 6 miles or so from hwy19.
Black Jack tables are plentyful , Video poker was not and almost all are triple or 5 play. The few single play ones I found were low payouts. Like the competitor's, alcholic drinks are NOT part of the free drinks given out to players ($6) and one tender charged double ($12), unlike in the state of LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your informative review. I was pleased to read you found your room amazing, but disappointed you had trouble locating the lobby. All feedback is important, and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Melinda J. Vollmer,
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    68
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
114
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful rooms and resort, they are also building a golf course which is almost done!
While there I used the spa and gym. I had a wonderful massage. The pool area
is clean and peaceful not to mention during the Thanksgiving week of November the weather
in Tucson is in the 80s!!

Room Tip: No matter what floor you are on, it is quiet and you will not hear casino noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very excited for the opening of the golf course and know it will only add to our guests’ experience here at Casino Del Sol. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Melinda Vollmer,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful casino's I have ever been in and recently hubby and I decided to spend the night. The room was very pretty but the couch was hard as a rock and they had those killer pillows that you fight all night to flatten.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent one night here while attending a charity event and we thought the place was beautiful. It's new and clean with one of the best "standard rooms" we've ever stayed in. It was large with comfortable furniture, a great TV and a nice bathroom and shower. The bed was very comfortable although I couldn't stand the pillows but that''s just personal taste. We wouldn't normally stay at a casino except for the event but loved the interior archictecture and the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful and rightfully proud of their facility.
There is nothing inexpensive about the details and finishes in this facility. I regret we didn't have time to use the pool facility because it was as nice as any I've ever seen.
We didn't have an opportunity to try any of the restaurnts except for breakfast which was fine and reasonably priced.
Maybe I'm just too easy to please, but if somebody asked me to recommend a beautiful facility
in Tucson (and we have stayed at all of them) that offered large, comfortable, clean rooms and a knockout pool I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this spot based on my experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, General Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. It is so nice to hear that we hit the mark in all areas. I would encourage you on your next stay to call the front desk and request a change of pillows, they have several types.
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I loved this hotel. I have to say the pool was amazing, the food incredible and the service was good in some places and lacking knowledge in others. We had a beautiful room that overlooked the pool, mountains and future golf course. Everyone was extremely friendly but I have to say some were less apt to help you. I thought for sure that a "tribal" would be very knowledgeable in their own surroundings but I had to use the concierge to find a place to hike in the area. I have to say that is my only gripe about this place, We ate at the buffet for free because we signed up for their casino card and it was amazing! I am not a huge gambler so the 10 dollars I got from the house was just enough to get me started, I did end up winning almost 70.00! Which covered our drink tab, which brings me to the drink prices which are very high but I figure it has to make up for the very reasonable food prices. We took advantage of the Happy Hour specials as much as we could. The interior of our room along withe the aforementioned view was amazing. I judge a room on two things the shower and the bed, both were incredible! The bed was very comfortable with a ton of pillows, almost too many but I would rather have that problem than not enough. The shower head was so relaxing and the decor was beautiful. We did have an issue with our air conditioner the first night but IT came first thing in the morning and fixed the problem. The staff do work at their pace so being from Chicago I am used to a hurry up and get it done mentality, so when it took 20 minutes to get our drink at the pool it did cause some frustration. It was a quiet week when we were there which I kind of liked, but would have liked to have seen more people our age there. We are in our mid 40's and were definitely the youngest one s there. There wasn't much night life except for the casino so I recommend going Thurs - Sunday when all the entertainment is there otherwise it does get boring unless you love to gamble. The firepits by the pool at night were very romantic it could be a lot of fun if the place was busy with people. If you have kids I would recommend going elsewhere, I didn't see too many things to do other than the pool. Mobys was the best for food cheap and quick service and open 24 hours. I wish we could have stayed longer but had plans to visit the Grand Canyon and do some hiking. We will definitely come back and stay again, it was very relaxing, and we will have a weekend stay the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We strive to ensure our guests are well-cared for, and it looks like we hit the mark. We look forward to your return when you can stay longer.

Again, thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
Melinda J. Vollmer,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yesterday we made our 3rd trip to this hotel. Each time we have stayed we have come away pleased with the experience. The front desk staff are friendly, and caring as well as efficient -- as are all the other staff that we have had contact with. Any requests are handled efficiently and quickly.
Rooms are beautifully appointed, with many amenities and the most comfortable beds. The pool area was great, especially this time of year.
As this hotel is adjacent to the Pasqua Yaqui Indian casino, there are many fine restaurants and of course a myriad of gaming venues. The Casino del Sol reminds me very much of a smaller version of the Paris Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.
On each of our visits we have seen many families with very young children staying there. So gaming is not the only attraction.
The latest resort project is an 18-hole golf course. At this point it is in the land clearing stage and is visible from the elevator lobbies of the higher floors. It appears that there will be water features on quite a few holes. We have no doubt it will be spectacular when it is completed.
We live about 45 minutes drive from the Casino del Sol complex, but enjoy spending a weekend there now and then. It has become our most popular in-town get-away.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the higher floors to be a little larger than those on the floors below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stays with us. We are excited about the golf course and know it can only add to the enjoyment of our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are an adult, but not a gambler this is a lovely facility. The spa is small but the staff is very pleasant as is the entire hotel staff. The pool is lovely. The pool and any "teen friendly" activities closed up around 11 and even walking to restaurants (during daytime as well as evening) in the resort is problematic as they must be escorted at all times. We received differing instructions from staff on what was acceptable so it was difficult to plan activities for 3 teens. There is nothing in the area to take them to do and the resort is pretty far from town.

The casino is not really interested in repeat business. After an entire weekend of playing at the tables we discovered we had not been rated at the tables. This means that the entire play was not recorded and that is how the casino determines discounts and complimentary services toward the spa, restaurants and hotel stays. It is an industry standard in the casino world. One of our party has been in the world series of poker twice and is an elite member in most casinos in Phx and Las Vegas. He spent over $2400 in play and 16 - 20 hours at the tables. 2 of us played considerably less but were also never recorded, despite giving our players club cards and playing at only one table the entire weekend. The issue was brought to the attention of Casino Mgmt and the response from upper management was somewhat surly and unapologetic. Even the dealers offered to attest to the time spent at the tables. After a promise of research and a week or more later we were told that "We will ALLOW you to have 7 hours of credited play". We shredded our players club cards and will not be returning. Which is unfortunate, as we visit Tucson often and without the kids we would have probably returned. If you go, leave the kids at home and play the slots. Don't expect the standard "Casino Experience".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, General Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am disappointed to hear your stay with us was not what you expected. We strive very hard to ensure our guests have a good experience. However, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. All feedback is important.
Melinda J. Vollmer,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casino Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol Resort

Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol Resort, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson.Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center*Prema Lobby Lounge*Festa International Buffet*PY Steakhouse*An Del Sol Asian Sushi Bar*Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar*High Limit Lounge*Covered parking garage*Various other restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casino Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Del Sol Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.