We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy in Tucson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro il Gelato Naturale

Allegro il Gelato Naturale
446 N. Campbell Ave, Suite 120, Tucson, AZ 85719
+1 520-207-1991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Ice Cream in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Italy in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Creamy goodness that comes in all sorts of different flavors. We tried the coconut and the salty caramel. Both excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most unbelievable and incomparable gelato this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Best gelato in town from a young Italian owner. Great, sleek, high-tech (stainless-steel) decor. Ask to try as many of their seasonal ~20 flavors, they don't mind. Each one is the most savory taste of that flavor you've ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Slight edge over Frost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had the fortune of being in Tucson for a week and having a gelato every night (don't have this at home!). I alternated between Frost and Allegro, and both are fantastic. However, I want to give Allegro the slight edge because 1) the biscotti biscuit is better, 2) they will mix two flavors in a small size, and 3) they are slightly less expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The. Best. Pistachio. Gelato.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were intrigued by the look of the place - with the fancy rotating display of the gelatos. We tried a few flavours and don't remember disliking any of them. My wife loved her chocolate gelato, but I'd highly recommend the pistachio gelato.

I'll be going back here if/when I'm in Tucson again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, CT USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasting glory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The generous sampling allowance is a sweet welcome, especially as myriad choices are all beckoning for a taste. I settled on three this time: cinnamon, grasping the spice with power, kiwi, because who can peel or scoop so many kiwi as quickly as one enjoys this gelato made from the fruit itself and a splatter of spicy chocolate sorbet, the sorbet flavor of the day with a hint of zing wrapped in deep dark chocolate. Be sure to keep your sampling spoons since you will want to share and try those your friends have chosen! I am not a frozen dessert fan, yet I will return for Allegro il Gelato because of its true fruit natural ingredients, smooth creamy texture without overshadowing sugars, and lightness. Make it one of your Tucsonian delights.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro il Gelato Naturale also viewed

 

Been to Allegro il Gelato Naturale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro il Gelato Naturale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.