We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabino Canyon

Sabino Canyon
5900 North Sabino Canyon Road, Tucson, AZ 85750
520 749 2861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Catalina Mountains and part of the Coronado National Forest, this beautiful canyon offers outdoor recreation including hiking, swimming, biking and picnicking. For an overview of the area, take the narrated shuttle bus tour.
Benson, Arizona
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Another World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sabino Canyon by far has the loveliest views in all of Tucson. I took a group of women there, there is a fee to get into the canyon but if you have a golden age pass, it's free to get in. We took the tram ride, and 5 out of the 7 of us had never been in Sabino, they were thrilled with it. The scenery is breathtaking...you have a narrated tour for $8.00 per person. The tram leaves every half hour from 9 on. At night they had tram rides near the full moon for $9.00 pp. You can get on and off as many times as you wish before getting back to Stop 1. There are 9 stops. At the top they only stop for 3 minutes. It's best to get on and off, hike a little to get a real feel of the canyon. I have hiked in there many many times and absolutely love it, especially the Phone Line Trail. I think the best thing to do if it's not too hot is pack a nice lunch, there are many lovely spots to picnic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,544
    330
    58
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hiking area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got a little lost in the sense that we didn't end up on the trail we wanted. I think this was more our fault because there are signs. Didn't matter - it was still great. Cost is just $5 for hiking/parking - a great deal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We tool the tram ride to the top, and made several stops going down and them back up. You can get on and off as often as you like. Be sure to check at the info desk as to what is going on. We panned for Garnet and Magnetite at stop 3. The views are great. Allow several hours to really enjoy the sights.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intl falls, mn
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique tourist attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This used to be a quiet, secluded, special little gem in the desert outside of Tucson. Now it is in the city due to unfettered development, attracts huge crowds of people, and parking can be very difficult. However, it still remains a unique tourist attraction worth a visit. Take the shuttle to the top, hike back, and have a picnic lunch if you are lucky enough to find an empty table.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A favorite hike for locals,is Seven Falls in Sabino Canyon. Lovely views with tons of saguaros and the final destination is a beautiful 7 tiered waterfall. Be aware, in very dry times, there may be no water, so check before you go. There is actually a little "beach" area where people sit and eat and put their toes in the cool water.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabino Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.