We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tamales I have in 21 yrs in Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Tamale Company

Tucson Tamale Company
2545 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-5303
520-305-4760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,685 restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Tucson
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best tamales I have in 21 yrs in Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I know why this restaurant is the top rated Mexican restaurant in Tucson. The tamales are superb..The only time I have had tamales this good is when they are homemade... Lots of tamales to choose from chicken,pork and veggie... I think the green corn are the best. Service is good and staff is friendly... I'll be back...You can also buy frozen tamales to take home...Very good prices...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    135
    47
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Best Tamale I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Being a big Trip Advisor fan we looked up the top place to eat in Tucson on our May visit and was surprised to see that between all those huge resorts and 5 star restaurants that the "Tucson Tamale Company" was voted number one so we had to give it a try!

Tiny little place with great art, décor, friendly helpful staff and great tamales!

My tamale was so big and stuffed with so much meat that one was the perfect amount for a nice meal for me!

Had a local beer and ate on the outside patio.

Everything was so good we gave it one more try on our way out of town and it was just as good as the last visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try on your visit to Tucson! Glad you got to sample some local beer as well. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Can that really go in a Tamale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great fresh tamales, eat inside or on the patio. The menu is great to eat off of, but go to the refrigerated and frozen tamales, Chicken pot pie; red, white and blue for the holiday; dogmale for the hot dog lover; Paella and little Italy. They also have a wonderful vegetarian and vegan tamale menu. Every time we're in Tucson we stop in for lunch and have mail order frozen tamales sent all year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow, flattering review! Thanks for enjoying us all the way over in Martinez, CA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We thought there may be more on the menu besides Tamales but we weren't disappointed by the fact that it was all Tamales. A huge variety of flavors & good sides. Really great tamales.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the simple menu--all tamales, all the time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and wonderful tamales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's nice to be greeted at a business as soon as you walk in the door! That's what you can expect at this great little find of a restaurant. My family likes to grab a 12-pack of the green-corm tamales and take them on a picnic. Everyone has their favorite tamale, so I recommend trying them all. You'll be sure to have a new craving and favorite restaurant in Tucson!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tucson Tamale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Tamale Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.