We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tamales ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Tamale Company

Tucson Tamale Company
2545 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-5303
520-305-4760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,697 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Tamales ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you're not a tamale fan you can skip this place. However, if your search for the perfect tamale continues, this might be the holy grail. Don't expect much from the place -- it's order at the counter and find a place in a sometimes crowded little joint. But the tamales, which are just about the whole menu, are exquisite. Hard to overstate what a treat they are, especially if you're used to simple corn and spices. They fill the tamales with a wonderful array of fillings -- pumpkin, plantain, Italian sausage -- my favorite was the Santa Fe with pork loin and green chili. It's tamale heaven. The food deserves 5 stars, but the place itself is a bit of a distraction.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    59
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Your must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you eat at only one restaurant in Tucson, make it this one. Even if you don't plan on eating in Tucson (just passing through) stop here! This place has the best tamales I've ever eaten, period. They have an excellent variety of tamales, including vegan and dessert tamales options. Everything I've had is good; my usual lunch is a JoJo and a Santa Fe. They have good salsa (the verde is great, and I normally don't like salsa verde), fresh chips, beer, and great Tucson atmosphere. It's definitely not a fancy place, but who cares? This is Tucson at it's best: good, inexpensive, southwestern food served in a friendly, fun, casual environment. Try it once, and you'll come back for more.....

Seriously, eat at Tucson Tamale Company.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, healthy, innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went here for a quick dinner and liked it so well that I reorganized my next day to stop by for an early lunch. The service was quick and pleasant and the tamales were fantastic! They were tasty and spicy without being painful. The fresh salad offered as an accompaniment was yummy and just right to balance the heat and heaviness of the tamales.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best tamales ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While at the Tucson Festival of Books this March I had the pleasure of eating food prepared by the Tucson Tamale Company and WOW, was it ever good!! I'll be happy to eat again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great variety of tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you've only had one or two kinds of tamales (for instance, regular corn masa and green corn), you'll be surprised by the variety here. If you're looking for gluten-free food, this is a good place. You can take out the food or eat at one of the (few) tables inside. Check this place out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Tamale Company also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Tamale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Tamale Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.