We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zemam's

Zemam's
2731 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-5307
520-323-9928
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Incredible flavors and options for carnivores and vegetarians alike. Make sure you warn any guests about eating with fingers from a common platter of ingera bread using more ingera as utensils.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a gem right in the middle of Tucson near the UA. Authentic menu served on freshly made injera. Lots of vegetarian options, and the prices are very reasonable. They don't have a liquor license and they let your bring your own. When you bring your own beer or wine it's just downright inexpensive for the entire evening. The staff is friendly and helpful. Everything on the menu is tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must - especially if you are anywhere near the U of A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A short drive from the University of Arizona. Kind of tight for parking, but well worth it. If you go for lunch, get the special - you pick three items off the menu, kind of the sampler thing.
Ethiopian food; very similar to Indian style but with more meat dishes.
We can't visit Tucson without stopping in.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ethiopian food for Americans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been coming to this restaurant for years since it opened - I think in the late 1990s. When it first opened it was Ethiopian food for Ethiopians and it was too, too spicy. I could not feel my lips and my mouth was on fire. These days it is mild to perfection in heat and taste. Just when you are about to have a coma from too much Mexican food in Tucson, Zemam's is just the perfect cure to cleanse your palette. And if your are from a background accustomed to using bread or tortillas instead of utensils, you we do just fine with the injera bread. Think of it as a sponge tortilla or naan. Zemam's provides a unique and excellent dining experience is a modest location. Try it for the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Ethiopian Flavors Minus the Heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We enjoyed four or five of the menu selections at this unique restaurant. They stress flavors without the spiciness of other Ethiopian eateries. We especially liked the lamb and the beef options. Be prepared to use your bread to dip into their large pizza-pan family style service. Everyone eats off one large plate. For folks with food allergies they will prepare special wheat-free breads. And the cardamom tea tasted delicious with our lunch selections. The building is somewhat crumbly, but the prices are great and the service very attentive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zemam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zemam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.