We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! Nice Variety!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails

Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails
135 South 6th Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 623-7700 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,603 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: BROADWAY + 6TH AVE
Transit: If you are arriving on the public bus system you can stop at the Rondstat Center downtown and walk 1 1/2 blocks south on 6th Ave. to 135 S. 6th ave.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good! Nice Variety!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Simple atmosphere. Clean looking and clean feel. Nice simple menu which also offers a 3 course option. Service was good. The Sea Crab soup was unbelievably good. The flank steak was fabulous and the cobbler desert was terrible. It was all dough and very tough. Really needed a steak knife to get through it. As a trio the price was reasonable. To order everything al a cart would be expensive. The variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks are nice. Some refreshing options. The coffee was fresh and good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    62
    32
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hit or miss with food but over the top with service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is pricey. They also cater to people with more refined tastes and vocabulary. The menu looks like a luxury cruise ship menu and its almost impossible to not have a question about something.

Ive been for business and with my grandparents before a play downtown. The drinks are good I will tell you that. Both myself and my grandparents got fairly tipsy and at the business meeting I had to refrain from drinking what I would at a normal place as you feel these drinks. Very good.

The food... well I dont like chicken livers but if you do these would probably be worth ordering. The main entrees I have tried have been fairly decent but for the price I definitely would have expected more. One person in our party had to have the meatloaf taken back as it was way over done. You expect perfection at this cost and the food quality is not up to par. They did immediately fix it and comped an item (I think it was the coffee we got with dessert) to make up for it so there is that. The desserts are pretty damn amazing though, not been disappointed in the least by those. Get one!

The service is wow, just wow. For people like me who are not used to it, in fact never been to a place with service like this in all of Tucson, it can be a bit over the top. I would drink 3 sips of water and it would be refilled. Any unused utensils or cups are immediately taken away and they recheck for this throughout the meal. If you get up to go to the bathroom, you will find your napkin refolded when you return. They bow and are the most polite servers I have ever met. My grandma appeared a bit annoyed at the frequency of refilling water glasses but honestly for the price and lack luster quality of food, they need service like this to make up for it. And who can complain about being waited on like that? It has been so nice when I have been there. They work hard for their tips and definitely earn it.

The overall feel and decor of this place is amazing. It used to be something else I forgot the name of that I had eaten at before and they definitely gave it a make over. Its so trendy and fancy and fun. You feel good being inside this place thats for sure.

Honestly Im not sure I would ever choose this place if left up to me. Both times left me reeling from the cost and not 100% satisfied with the food. However the service has always blown me away. I think if you have the right taste for strange food (look up the menu before going!!!) and can afford it and like above and beyond service, this place would probably be heaven.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great People, Disappointing Food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The scene is lively and noisy, the decor trendy and the staff cheerful and friendly. But the food is a big dud. Positives - the peanuts were tasty and the bread was fresh. Negatives - the mango salad was an under-flavored tangle of julienne vegetables, the Caesar salad was dry dark green leaves with powdered Parmesan, the garlic fries were sitting in a pool of oil, the prawns and the calamari were both flavorless. Overall amateurish dishes, but a nice bunch of people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not as good as I remember it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had dinner at Jano's downtown, I had the brazilian seafood stew, and a papaya salad. It was not as good as on previous occassions, I remember better food and service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Need a 2nd visit before I can say for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was my first time to Downtown Kitchen, I used to eat at JBar and Janos. I was not expecting an Asian menu, so that through me. Honestly, there's not much upscale Asian cuisine in Tucson. That said, there were a lot of interesting offerings on menus, appetizers, entrees, desserts and cocktails. I think the wine list was a bit overpriced, or at least there should have been some more affordable options on it, so we didn't order wine.

The food we had was interesting, not fantastic. It warrants a second visit to try something else on the menu.

The service was very good, that is always a plus, because if the service is bad I won't be back.

The decor is fine, I saw another reviewer saying it should be more southwest. Hello, don't we have enough of that? And it's not a Southwest menu. It was comfortable, well lit, the noise level was a bit high, and I couldn't hear people across the table from me, so with that in mind I might dine on the patio next time. I wouldn't recommend it for large groups due to noise level.

One minor warning, the floor slopes oddly at points (near bar, near restrooms) and you don't see it coming, if you are a woman in heels you have been warned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.