We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this innovative restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails

Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails
135 South 6th Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 623-7700 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 1,579 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: BROADWAY + 6TH AVE
Transit: If you are arriving on the public bus system you can stop at the Rondstat Center downtown and walk 1 1/2 blocks south on 6th Ave. to 135 S. 6th ave.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this innovative restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Finally able to get back to this restaurant when we were in town for the gem show. More great cocktails, great food, great service from knowledgeable server. Love to try their innovative food and learn some new stuff too! Wish he had a restaurant in the Phoenix area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    56
    26
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Haven't had a meal this good since New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Don't let the dingy look of the downtown street and patio put you off. (we almost didn't stay here)
I ordered a Cucumber Martine muddled with Basil and Lime bitters. Hubby ordered the sense of place prix fix (only $35) which included a Chile relleno like none we've ever had-no egg but we shared bites and just looked at each other OH MY GOD. I had a beet carpaccio gravlax with some kind of vinegrette--again we could only stare and say--OH MY GOD
. Next came the carnitas in mole that they split for us and had atop a tamale like chiliques mix. This sounds like "Mexican food" but it wasn't. It was a ultra take on Southwestern that simply was like nothing you've ever tasted. I took the Mango mousse cake home but Hubby had to have the Chocolate Fudge Jalapeno Ice Cream which again piqued the senses. He's the one who said we haven't had anything this good since last year in Louisiana. Oh, for an appetizer we had the mushroom baked bread with a sauce on it that was again like nothing you've ever tasted and just scrumptious. The server was knowledgeable and attentive but not overly so. The menu was so varied and exciting --they must have a fabulous chef. The people next to us had come for happy hour appetizer and they had some great looking mini burgers etc. Again. Don't let the looks of the place put you off. It's casual but the food is five star.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Innovative Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Loved the Place menu. This is the sorta stuff that made me a fan on Janos in the old days when his restaurant was in the old town. Great take on Mexican fusion, well worth a look.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is our first time at this restaurant and the food was delicious. It was a Monday night and relatively quiet. The service was excellent. There were four of us and we all tried something different for our appetizers and entrees. The fish soup was fabulous. The Beet and smoked salmon salad was also exceptional. Someone ordered the 3 course "sense of house" items which were flavorful and creative. We will definitely go back. We all enjoyed our food emmensely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun , but needs to change decor to make more intimate and more Tucson !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just wish the decor captured the feel of the Old Pueblo ... We love eating downtown because most of the places incorporate the culture in the ambience . This restaurant is located in a vintage building but is contemporary in its design . Why don't more Tucson restaurants maintain an approach like Santa Fe and AND embrace the Hispanic and native culture in the decor and art ?
I think it would increase the popularity of this restaurant , since the owner is nationally noted for his Tucson restaurants ...yet , this restaurant looks nothing like Tucson .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.