We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cat Mountain Lodge
2720 S. Kinney Rd., Tucson, AZ 85735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This lovely Bed and Breakfast met and exceeded my expectations in every possible way. Ambiance, service, landscaping, you name it and they have it covered beautifully. I am already looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around the grounds and research a bit about the owners. Their story is fascinating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the lovely and huge Sierra Madre suite and had a wonderful three nights here. The room was comfortable and everything we could have hoped for, the hosts are very friendly and helpful, the common area with cookies and a computer a nice touch, but the real beauty of the place is how close it is to the great outdoors.

Before you even step outside, there is a lovely cactus garden in the inner courtyard; then you are surrounded by Saguaro cacti outside the windows and around the grounds. You are just a few miles down the road from the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Saguaro National Park, where we spent a whole day and then were very happy to have just a few minutes' drive to get back to the lodge and rest from all the activity.

The included breakfasts at the Coyote Pause were fine, and by the second day the waitresses thought of us as regulars and remembered which of us were tea drinkers and what else we might want.

The Cat Mountain Station consignment store was also a hidden jewel. We didn't go in until our final morning and I was very glad we hadn't missed seeing it, even though we didn't have room in our suitcases to get much there.

If we are in Tucson again, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the Sierra Madre suite; I didn't see the other rooms so cannot compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are in the middle of a two week (12 days) stay and that in and of itself should tell you what we think of this place. Each day we receive a free voucher for either breakfast or lunch at the local Coyote Pause Cafe. We ate there last year several times as well and every meal was/is delicious. It may sound like I own the place and want to do some self-promotion. But the truth is, we are happy here and find it easy to recommend. It's thumbs up for the Cat.

Room Tip: We are staying in the Fiesta Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucdon, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay here was a delight and a deal! The room and setting was lovely and comfortable. Coyote Pause Cafe offered great meals (breakfast or lunch is included in each night's stay) The Lodge's commitment to conservation and ambiance is admirable. We enjoyed hiking in the area, biking and a wonderfully fun evening dinner at Fred's Arena Bar and Grill about 14 miles from the B&B. Music and dancing the first and third Saturday's of the month was an extra treat. We also enjoyed the guided star gazing from the lodge's own small observatory, Spencer's Observatory. Kat greeted us when we arrived, friendly and welcoming. The small marketplace of shops offered more diversion.

Room Tip: The Fiesta room was large and had a lovely view from the window over the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here as we were visiting the nearby observatory. Each room has been lovingly decorated and the lady who checked us in was so friendly and genuinely interested in making us as comfortable as possible. Generous rooms and a lovely set of shops and galleries within 1 min walking distance. The cafe was excellent - some of the friendliest people we met on our trip. Our daughter left her doll behind, not only did they email us but they also posted same day delivery so we could fly home with it. Above and beyond the call of duty! Highly recommend. (The only reason I did not give rooms 5 stars is because there was a bit too much light coming from the courtyard - could do with a thicker blind on the door)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just got back from our second trip to Tucson in 18 months. Last trip to Cat Mountain we stayed in Spencer's Suite; this time we had Sierra Madre, which was a very large two-room suite, comfortably furnished. The management at CML has changed in the interim, and Kat was very friendly and helpful. We were seeing family, some of whom were staying in the guest house associated with the lodge, and Kat was very accommodating about our desire to let some of the kids move back and forth between the two properties. The food in the cafe is still terrific. I can't say enough about this great lodge! I'm a great lover of nice boutique hotels, but I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Tucson when we visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pghoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just returned fron two days at Cat Mountain Lodge, south and west of Tucson. We chose it because it was close to the home of a friend, and the good reviews here. It lived up to the reviews. There are 5 rooms, and we had Old Mexico. It was good sized for a B&B, nicely decorated except for one shortcoming, and quite comfortable. The rooms open out to a delightful patio with well chosen desert plantings, and a map showing you the name of each plant. The one shortcoming was that the lamps in the room were pretty dim and made reading difficult.
There is a common room open day and night with tea and cookies, as well as a computer. Coffee is served in the morning. There are pleasant grounds with more desert plantings, a delightful home for the resident desert tortoise, who was hibernating, and an overall relaxed atmosphere.
The lodge is back from the street, behind a small shopping center holding about five arts and crafts stores, and a cafe open mainly for breakfast and lunch, but also limited dinners on Fridays and Saturdays. It would be advisable to look for the Coyote Cage sign. The B&B provides you with two vouchers daily for this cafe which can be used for either breakfast or lunch. This is a unique concept, has the advantage of providing a wide restaurant selection, and the disadvantage of the loss of the B&B companionship. In our case, this didn't much matter because we were the only occupants until Saturday when we left.
Cat Mountain is a long way out in the desert, about 20 miles from downtown Tucson, and traffic closer to the city can be bad. In the city it deteriorates to just plain awful.
However, if you wish to visit the Arizona Sonora Desert Museaum - and you really should - that is relatively close. This museum combines a zoo and botanical garden, mainly limited to local flora and fauna, but is a beutiful place with delightful exhibits. Do not miss the raptor show. It is quite an experience to have a red tailed hawk fly right past your head. The Saguaro National Forest Center is close by, as well as Old Tucson, a location designed for us in many western movies and TV shows.
This B&B would also be a decent starting off place to visit Nogales in Mexico, Kitt Peak observatory and other southern Arizona places easily reachable in a days round trip drive.
Our hostess, Kat, was very pleasant and chatty, with a lot of local information. Altogether we hade an excellent stay here, and would recommed this B&B if you are interested in visiting this part of the Tucson area.

Room Tip: The web site gives you a good idea of the rooms, and provides an accurate picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Mountain Lodge

Address: 2720 S. Kinney Rd., Tucson, AZ 85735
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2009, our beautiful 13 acre eco-friendly bed & breakfast offers a vintage ranch setting with 5 spacious rooms, a mix of Southwestern comfort and modern conveniences. We also have a guest house available. Nearby artisans shopping center, telescope observatory, café, and desert tortoise enclosure makes Cat Mountain Lodge a fine destination for locals and traveling visitors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cat Mountain Lodge to your Saves list