We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for some regional cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Olla Mexican Cafe

La Olla Mexican Cafe
8553 North Silverbell Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
520-579-0950
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #39 of 1,669 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Redmond, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking for some regional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Was staying in the area for a couple of days and looked to Tripadvisor to assist us with our evening meal. Chose this restaurant based on it's reviews and was not disappointed as it was some of the best Mexican food I have eaten. As we were staying in downtown Tucson, the driving directions were not the best as it was about 14 miles from where we were staying. We got there about 5:30 and the place was virtually empty, but within minutes it was full. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    37
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southern NH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice family run cafe. Smal dining area with good, reasonably priced food. Challenge to find this small restaurant so use gps

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food / fair price / good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Large portion, good food, good service picked the place form other good reviews glad we did north of Tucson a few miles use GPS or you will drive past

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food! Out of the usual (i,'m not afoodie] but tasty for sure and not out priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had shrinp me....something wonderful! Enchilada & taco licked the plate! Lovely patient waitress, little tough to find but worth it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not a fancy place, but a good one! Liked the chips and salsa, and all of our entrees as well. The nachos were great as an appetizer. Staff was nice, and the place got really crowded as we were leaving. Yummy cheesy veggies as a side, and also liked the rice and beans. Good chile relleno, too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Olla Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Olla Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Olla Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.