We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for some regional cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Olla Mexican Cafe

La Olla Mexican Cafe
8553 North Silverbell Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
520-579-0950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 1,686 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Looking for some regional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Was staying in the area for a couple of days and looked to Tripadvisor to assist us with our evening meal. Chose this restaurant based on it's reviews and was not disappointed as it was some of the best Mexican food I have eaten. As we were staying in downtown Tucson, the driving directions were not the best as it was about 14 miles from where we were staying. We got there about 5:30 and the place was virtually empty, but within minutes it was full. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southern NH
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice family run cafe. Smal dining area with good, reasonably priced food. Challenge to find this small restaurant so use gps

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good food / fair price / good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Large portion, good food, good service picked the place form other good reviews glad we did north of Tucson a few miles use GPS or you will drive past

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Az
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food! Out of the usual (i,'m not afoodie] but tasty for sure and not out priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had shrinp me....something wonderful! Enchilada & taco licked the plate! Lovely patient waitress, little tough to find but worth it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not a fancy place, but a good one! Liked the chips and salsa, and all of our entrees as well. The nachos were great as an appetizer. Staff was nice, and the place got really crowded as we were leaving. Yummy cheesy veggies as a side, and also liked the rice and beans. Good chile relleno, too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Olla Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Olla Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Olla Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.