We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Olla Mexican Cafe

La Olla Mexican Cafe
8553 North Silverbell Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
520-579-0950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 1,684 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
southern NH
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice family run cafe. Smal dining area with good, reasonably priced food. Challenge to find this small restaurant so use gps

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good food / fair price / good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Large portion, good food, good service picked the place form other good reviews glad we did north of Tucson a few miles use GPS or you will drive past

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food! Out of the usual (i,'m not afoodie] but tasty for sure and not out priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had shrinp me....something wonderful! Enchilada & taco licked the plate! Lovely patient waitress, little tough to find but worth it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not a fancy place, but a good one! Liked the chips and salsa, and all of our entrees as well. The nachos were great as an appetizer. Staff was nice, and the place got really crowded as we were leaving. Yummy cheesy veggies as a side, and also liked the rice and beans. Good chile relleno, too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“La Olla rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have been going to La Olla's since before it was discovered. Wait staff and owner(if they are not overwhelmed with customers-otherwise the owner/chef is busy preparing the next meal) all shower you with attention. Food is great and a little known secret is that, if you are a regular (by that I mean, if you have eaten there often), you know what their portfolio of menu items are and, if you want something that is not on the current menu and ask for it, they will make it for you-no questions asked! Portions are just right unless you order a Chimmy and then you will probably be taking part of it home in a box...even without desert...just won't have room for it.
My wife taught me to break off pieces of the Tortilla and wrap juicy bits of Carne Asada, beans etc in it as min bites...boy what a difference. The Tortilla and chips, have that home made taste and are the best.

We eat there regularly and, as others have stated, it has never failed to impress out of town guests. We love the fact that its location keeps it busy, but not so busy that you cannot get a seat most of the time with no wait.......and did I mention, they do take out. The residents of the surrounding developments of Continental Ranch etc. have learned that a call on your way home from work, has a pickup waiting for you to save you time fixing supper when you have to work late...terrific!

I will put down a date for a visit, but we eat there so regularly that almost any date will cover it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Olla Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Olla Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Olla Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.