We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek Restaurant in Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
15920 Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85739
+1 520-825-4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Join us for a great meal as Chef Casey Yeaton creates your dish from real food. Where else in Tucson can you get tender delicious Octopus? Fall off the bone Lamb Shanks? Sign up for our FishGram!! Need catering? Call us!
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Best Greek Restaurant in Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just love this place. The food rocks and the chef/owner is a hoot. Their calamari is my favorite. But go to the Catalina site--parking is easy and free and the owner usually is at that site. They have a wonderful fixed price lunch for groups, too, with a tasty 3-course lunch, including selected beverages at a very reasonable price. Our book group couldn't believe what a bargain that lunch was. Make a reservation on weekends because it's jammed and you'd have to wait a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great little place with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I go to It's Greek to Me every time I visit Tucson. It is a little, quiet, wonderful restaurant tucked away in a strip mall in Catalina. The food is consistently excellent and their service is great. They have a good selection of very good Greek wines. I recommend calling for reservations on a weekend for lunch or dinner or if you have a larger group. If you have a birthday or special occasion be sure to let your server know and you will get a piece of delicious yogurt cake. :-) The owner, George, is very friendly and was able to tell me what is gluten free on the menu in addition to asking if there was a special occasion when I called for our reservation. When I told him we had 2 birthdays in our group, he said he would bake a cake for them! Their seafood special was salmon and it was the best I have had, spiced and cooked perfectly. Their gyros and Greek salad are both excellent and all portions are very generous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The restaurant is top of line food and good service. Been there many times and will continue to go! The rice pudding is to die for as well as the Gyro plate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place - Try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in Catalina AZ, just follow AZ 77 N toward Oracle and stop at the first sign of life in Catalina. What a blessing to find this place in the middle of nowhere. The chef is the owner and he is one funny and friendly guy. I think his family helps runs the place and we have been there 3 times in the past month. I tried the Gyro plate the first time and brought home half of it. My husband loves the hummus and home-made yogurt tzatziki sauce. He eats the vegetarian menu items and I eat the meat dishes! We always order the greek salad without the feta and have had the house red wine and never left hungry or upset about the service. Outstanding! Love the atmosphere there and the paintings on the walls are works of art. I know this sounds cheeky but Kudos for this place that will become our regular place when we're hungry, want great service and food for outstanding prices. Well Done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You'd think you were in Greece...George is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Food is super tasty...George uses great suppliers for super fresh supplies. Everyone we eat with here always raves about their meal and swears whatever they had is the best meal on the menu or fresh specials! Food and atmosphere are very authentic even though you will see the locals in their jeans and cowboy hats. Love going here because everything is lays good...I'm a bit of a picky eater and always have plenty to choose from. No stairs or multiple-floors and large bathroom make it easy access. Have some wine...the servers will sample you a couple if you are not sure what you want.. And be sure to save room for the honey cake...it is fabulous and often hot out of he oven ( it doesn't hurt to order it when you order main dish so thy don't run out!). North of central Tucson up past Oro Valley in Catalina across parking lot from The Golden Goose thrift shop on Oracle Rd. sits back from main highway in strip mall...you ay think you re in the wrong area for great Greek food when you drive up, but you won't think so when you leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Greek to Me also viewed

 

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage It's Greek to Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.