We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorino can wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
15920 Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85739
+1 520-825-4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,697 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Join us for a great meal as Chef Casey Yeaton creates your dish from real food. Where else in Tucson can you get tender delicious Octopus? Fall off the bone Lamb Shanks? Sign up for our FishGram!! Need catering? Call us!
tucson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Santorino can wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

For an authentic Greek food experience, travel no further than this gem tucked away in Catalina,AZ. The food is consistently excellent; the servers friendly and efficient.
Last night, we had delightful early evening meal. George, the owner, treated us to an appetizer plate of house made tzatziki and hummus served with warm pita bread. The fresh fish, mahi mahi,was grilled to perfection. The lamb shank, a must have, was yummy as always. The fourth entree, a large rib-eye steak was also grilled just right.
Although we were on our way to an early movie and couldn't linger over dessert, the four of us know we will be back to enjoy this little piece of the Greek Isles in the desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were driving by Catalina, AZ on the way to Tuscon and I was craving something fresh and nutritious after a long drive. So I googled restaurants in the area, and a small greek restaurant looked appealing to me. I'm happy we picked that one! The food was extremely fresh and authentically Mediterranean! The waitress was superfriendly and even offered us a small extra hoummus platter on the house, while we were waiting for our food! Prices were very reasonable too, and we enjoyed sitting in this small family owned place chatting with the very friendly and talkative owner. I would warmly recommend this place to those who love or want to try out Mediterranean diet!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ompa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As military officer who has worked in Greece for many years this place for a blessing to find. I have been to several Greek places in Tucson and left very disappointed.

Not here! George made the visit and dining a pleasurable experience! I felt as if I was sitting back at my favorite place near my Greek home.

You can't go wrong here except being in a rush...sit back and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“left feeling sufficient and valued”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been several times and always had a good experience. Calamari has a light batter and fresh oil is used for each batch. Because it takes 6 to 7 mins. to prepare, the owner sent out pita with hummus and tazike sauce, to help with the "wait". One of our group had the moussaka and thought it was fine. Rest of our party had the gyro plate. I wish i had shared one. the owner, George comes and visits with each table. May share a glass of wine with you. That touch and his enthusiasm makes you feel glad you came and makes you want to come back..
Check it out

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Truly the best Greek meal we've had outside of Greece. We love love love this restaurant! It is so nice to have a exceptional place to go in northern Tucson. You can't go wrong regardless of what you order. The food is fresh, authentically prepared with generous portions and delicious. The owner George is on sight and makes the rounds to check on your meal and service. On our first visit we went at lunch and they were experimenting with a new baklava cheese cake. We were given a slice free to evaluate. All we could say was yum! The yoghurt is make fresh in house. We suggest dinner reservations. The secret is out.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Greek to Me also viewed

 

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage It's Greek to Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.