We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
15920 Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85739
+1 520-825-4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Join us for a great meal as Chef David d'Auteuil creates your dish from real food. Where else in Tucson can you get tender delicious Octopus? Fall off the bone Lamb Shanks? Sign up for our FishGram!! Need catering? Call us!
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This restaurant is hidden in the back of a strip mall in Catalina on north Oracle Road. We had gone there a couple of months ago for a large group dinner where the food was served family style and really enjoyed it so we decided to give it a try on our own. We were not disappointed.

We both ordered the gyros plate which came with a greek salad and pita bread. The salad was very fresh and tasty, the pita was fresh and warm, the meat was very good and the tzatziki sauce was the perfect accompaniment. Portions were very generous - my wife took home about half of her meat and pita bread.

The service was also excellent - attentive but not intrusive, and very friendly. After dinner, our server showed up with a dessert to share, saying it was on the house because the owner thought it had take too long for us to get our food do to a mix-up in the kitchen. That was really news to us since our food had come out within a reasonable time, but it's just indicative of how the owner goes the extra mile to make sure his guests are satisfied. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    21
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson, az
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“In Catalina Arizona, A Thumbs Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It’s Greek to Me, is located actually in Catalina Arizona.
My husband and I have been twice in less than a month.
First time was with our friends who own a restaurant in Colorado
and the second time just the two of us.
Both times the foods was quite good, the service was nice and over all
we would give it a thumbs up.
In this part of Tucson, there aren’t too many choices of
places to eat out, you take what you can get!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It's really in Catalina AZ - VERY GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is on North Oracle, in Catalina, AZ (about 16 miles north of Tucson). Small place, very intersting decorations (realistic paintings on the walls and ceilings). Excellent, attentive and prompt service. The owner/chef comes out to see how you are, recommend dishes, then checks to see how you like what he cooked for you. Had the Lamb Shank - very good and certainly plenty of foor. My wife had the fisherman's stew - that was truly excellent. They recommended a Greek white wine (I know nothing about Greek wines), which turned out to be excellent. They let you savor small tastest of the Greek wines before you decide, which is very helpful. For a different (=Greek!) dinner outing, this place is highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Dined twice at the new(er) location of "It's Greek to Me", on Oracle Road out in Catalina (Hi-way 77). The food was excellent. The Lamb Shank is more than I could eat, and what was left over was almost as good the next day at home. Took some old friends, there about 4 days later, and the food was great AGAIN. Greek Taverna atmosphere, with good service, and even some good Greek beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Athens is in Catalina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's Greek to Me should be named, "Little Athens in Catalina" because the food is authentic greek and representational of a taverna you would find in Greece. My fiance is Greek and we have travelled extensively all over Greece and the islands and this restaurant stands with the best we have found in Greece. George, the colorful gracious entertaining owner, does the cooking and socializing, making this a very entertaining experience. George's calamari is the best in Tucson, really up there with the best we have had all over the world, very light and tender, and his grilled lamp chops are scrumptious. The combo appetizer is delicious, and the roasted red pepper stuffed with cheeses will make you sing, it truly is delectable. His spanakopita is outstanding. Everything we have had on the menu has been delicious. He is a talented chef, and has a friendly accommodating staff. The desserts are also excellent, with unique desserts of the day. Also, the interior has beautiful hand painted murals of Greece. When you are inside it's hard to remember you are in Catalina, AZ because the wine, food, atmosphere, transports you to Greece. Efharisto George! - All the best - CIndy

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Greek to Me also viewed

 

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage It's Greek to Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.