We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luckies, a really GREAT Little Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luckie's Thai-Asian

Luckie's Thai-Asian
8110 S Houghton Rd, Suite 186, Tucson, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
Description: http://www.luckiesthaiasian.com/Location.html
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.luckiesthaiasian.com/Location.html
tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luckies, a really GREAT Little Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Luckie’s Thai-Asian Cuisine is a really GREAT find. If you’re passing through Tucson (or live there) it’s on the east side in a strip mall off Houghton not too far from I-10. It's a very small place with a big menu. The food is flavorful, inexpensive and varied. You want Chinese? Thai? You want your choice of meat (including tofu or none)? You want it mild? Spicy? Whatever, Luckie’s has it and it’ll probably cost you less than $10. Unlike most Asian restaurants, Luckie’s is devoid of distracting music and décor. The one whimsical touch is the clay “happy pigs” available for sale at the counter in case you need a souvenir. My family certainly found Luckie’s Thai dishes to our liking. The Pork Pad Thai (fried rice noodles with pork, vegetables and egg) was not at all like the uniform globs of Pad Thai sampled elsewhere. Instead, Luckie’s version offered delightful variation, with distinct textures and tastes in every mouthful. The Thai Cashew Chicken was flavorful, well-seasoned, with colorful crisp fresh vegetables and tender chicken. The Vegetable Panang Curry (vegetables simmered in curry paste, coconut milk, peanut sauce, basil and lime) was rich without being heavy. We all agreed it was the best looking dish on the table. The Seafood Pho (Thai noodle soup with mussels, shrimp, crab, bean sprouts, cilantro and basil) was bursting with flavor, especially the numerous chunks of seafood. I added a fresh chili pepper and several scoops of chili paste. Perfect. For dessert we sampled the sweet-tart combination of Sweet Rice with Mango and the scrumptious Homemade Thai Coconut Ice Cream. We look forward to trying some Chinese dishes from the other side of the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been going Luckie's for the past year and its always been great. The Thai food is really good I haven't ordered too much off the chinese side but have had most things Thai. The prices are competitive as well and the staff is friendly. If you like Thai food its.worth trying out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surprised to find such great food in an ordinary strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Southeast Tucson doesn't have a lot of restaurants and we're fortunate to have Luckies. The family that owns the restaurant is quite friendly and welcoming. Both the Chinese and Thai sections of the menu are quite good, although we enjoy the Thai the most as they are willing to make it five star hot for those in our family who crave heat in their food. Service is quick, too.

It's our regular go-to place for Thai.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai/Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This restaurant was truly a "lucky" find. It's not really a sit down restaurant although there are about a dozen tables inside with wooden chairs. I'd really call it a take-out with tables if you'd prefer to sit for a quick bite. You order at the counter & the food is either packaged to go or they will bring it to your table. Food is fantastic! Fresh & prepared very well. Big menu, fair pricing & a really nice staff. Try the lunch special menu....priced very well. It's one of my favorite places to go for a quick bite to eat or to bring home.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Luckie's has an extensive menu of both Thai and Chinese food. The Thai food is authentically cooked by Thais, and is outstanding. They cook to order to your preferred spiciness level. The Chinese is good, but I'd say is on the order of Panda Express faire. Pretty decent atmosphere for a little strip mall restaurant. The staff is very friendly, and aims to please. The service is usually pretty fast, but they get overwhelmed at times since it is a popular place with the locals. Great for both sit down and take out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luckie's Thai-Asian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luckie's Thai-Asian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.