We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for two years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Gethsemane

Garden of Gethsemane
602 W Congress St, Tucson, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 268 things to do in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: sculptures depicting biblical scenes in city park along west bank of Santa Cruz River
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wait for two years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This attraction is difficult to find. It is just west of I-10 and is far removed from anything else tourism oriented. As another reviewer stated, it is in a state of disrepair. However, restoration is underway and is expected to be completed in a couple years. In the meantime, it is a sad spectacle which has been subject to vandalism and other occurrances (arms and hands of statues broken, etc.). In terms of locating the attraction it is behind the small parking lot that has a dumpstar at its entrance rather than a sign.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a little time on the way to Old Tucson or Desert Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This little garden is a must see in my book! The statues will not speak because this is not Disneyland, but there is an amazing history and a place that is probably overlooked by a lot of visitors to Tucson. For many years a person could visit at any hour of the day or night, but now there is a gate so be sure to check for visiting hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

relaxing and lets your mind wander
a little park with ceramic larger than life size staues of religous figures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

very conforting and interesting to know how this came about

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista AZ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had remembered these statues/figures from my childhood in the 1950's. I remembered they were in a quiet shady place along a river bed near downtown. I was so happy to discover they still stand, albeit in a different location and in a state of disrepair. I'm glad to know they now are in a dedicated little park where hopefully they will be preserved for a long time to come. The story behind the hand sculpted figures is inspiring, and I hope whoever is responsible for the upkeep of the the statues will plan to do some restoration in the near future. The park is a peaceful place, and I would highly recommend a stop there. It is so close to the high rises and the freeway, yet there is a sense of peace and tranquility. Definitely worth a stop to enjoy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Gethsemane also viewed

 

Been to Garden of Gethsemane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Gethsemane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.