We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Eclectic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jax Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jax Kitchen
7286 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
520 219 1235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Acton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Eclectic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The atmosphere is not "upscale", but the food was different because the combinations were not the usual. We absolutely loved it. The Basil Granita Margarita was to die for...seriously. Service was fabulous...I would definitely go back the next time I'm in Tucson.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not that Amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Was expecting amazing food and a fun upscale atmosphere. Although I had fantastic company and great service, the food was "ok". We ordered the "chefs board", what I expected based on reviews was a mouth watering experience. What I got was passable, not horrible, but certainly not amazing. I'm thinking a trip to any local farmers market could have secured me, much better food, high quality and freshness. In short if offered another chance to dine there, I would pass.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“3 Words: Red. Velvet. Cake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Food was very good, and service was spectacular, but it is the red velvet cake that merits this 5-star review! The best red velvet cake I have ever had! Dinner was unique and flavorful, the service was friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere was great for a date night. Portions are large, so remember to save room for dessert! I would even return just for dessert and coffee anytime!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great meal and service, worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I very much enjoyed the Crispy Salmon a nicely prepared and presented dinner. The textures and flavors were great. I would love to come back more to try some of the other things on the menu. Everyone was friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great date night spot, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I heard about Jax from a friend of mine and decided to try it out for myself. I figured it would be a nice date night out for my girlfriend and I, and I sure was not disappointed.

The place is a bit small but has a comfortable charm to it. I'm not a drinker but it did have a nice little bar which I got a margarita for my lady. It was one of the most delicious mix drinks I've tried. The Orange and other fruit flavors went well with the tequila.


Our server was very helpful in explaining the dishes and appetizers.I had the duck with a corn pudding, that was cooked perfectly and had the flavors of a rich Thanksgiving feast. It was the best duck dish ive had in Tucson. My girlfriend had a salmon dish that she was very pleased with. Both of the dishes were a good price around $22 each and well worth it, because they were delicious and a different meal.

I would love to go back and try the dinners for two, the beef roast dinner that was on menu sounded delicious. This restaurant is definitely worth going back to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jax Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.