We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIVERSITY INN TUCSON” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Tucson

Save Saved
You added University Inn Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Inn Tucson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off room rate
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Concord, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“UNIVERSITY INN TUCSON”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed five nights at this motel (6/2/2013 to 6/7/2013).

The room had two double beds, my bed was very comfortable.
The AC unit had broken louvers but worked fine.
The room had a refrigerator and microwave, in addition to a coffee maker.
The hair dryer started smoking the first time I tried to use it.
The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water.

Room Tip: I always check to make sure the window is locked, ~ 25% of the time I find the window unlocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alan S,

Thank you for writing a review for our Inn. I want to apologize for any conveniences you had during your stay with us. However, I am happy to hear you were comfortable in our rooms and enjoyed the extra amenities. We did recently update our AC features as we added temperature thermostats. Sometimes guests have had trouble adjusting the temperature so in some of the room we have disconnected the thermostats and taken off the control cover of the ACs so the controls are easily accessible. We are testing this as we continue to improve our Inn. We will be sure to also check out the hairdryers to make sure they are functioning properly in the room. Overall I am glad to hear you were comfortable and the shower was working properly. We do look forward to serving you again next time you visit us. Thank you again for your feedback.


Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
20
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights, and found the room comfortable for the price. Wifi worked well with no problems. Air con was heaven as was extremely hot when we arrived. We found it odd that we had to make our toast and then take it back to our room, as there wasn't really anywhere to sit and eat it in reception. Now we believe that this is not unusual in the this part of the US, as we have found the same in other motels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Millieandme,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am glad you found our rooms to be comfortable. It is hot during the summer times of the year in Tucson, making our AC's extremely important for our guests so I am glad that it worked well for you. We also have our pool where you can cool off in during the hot days. I am glad you brought up the breakfast sitting area. It is uncommon for Motels of our size to provide free continental breakfast due to the rates that we charge. We still provide free continental breakfast as an added feature and it is quite common in the States for guests to take back their breakfast with them into their rooms and enjoy it there. I am glad you had a great experience with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We needed a place to park our bones for a night while in Tucson to visit friends and attend a concert at the Casino del Sol and this Inn fit the bill. Don't let the price deceive you, this place is less expensive only because of the location in Tucson. Yes, this part of Stone is sort of run down, but remember this is Tucson, and many parts of the city are truly the "Old Pueblo". The room was as clean as could be, the host, Henry, totally accommodating and helpful, and the location actually ideal since it is close to downtown where we had a meeting, and close to the Fourth Ave. shopping district and the U of A. Top that off with being a couple of blocks from the freeway to get us to the concert and it was a winner. The AC worked as designed and was not overly noisy. It is a window style and there is noise from this kind in every hotel I have stayed at. It was also thermostat controlled on the wall which made for tight control.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the first floor facing north so as to minimize any noise from the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear robertocollins,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn. I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience at our Inn. We do provide clean and comfortable rooms at a very budget friendly price. Why spend more when you don't have to? Thank you for all your comments and helpful recommendations. We look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson, AZ!

Sincerely,

University Inn Tucson Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thank you Henry for making my stay wonderful. The rooms where clean and spacious and very quiet, I will definitely be staying there on my next business trip. The hotel is very good about helping with directions around town and also in dining suggestions. The location of the hotel is very central to a lot of attractions and not very far from the freeway. In general I enjoyed my stay tremendously and recommend this hotel to anybody planning a trip to the Tucson area. Make sure you say hi to Henry he is a great guy!

Room Tip: Ask management to turn air conditioning on a couple of hours before you get there that way the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Myrnagrant,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am absolutely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We indeed have wonderful rooms that are clean and comfortable. Having been residents of tucson for over 20+ years, we are more than willing to show our guests what to see and what to eat around town. We are centrally located so there are plenty of attractions to see around. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

University Inn Tucson Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for somthing cheep and cheerful near to the university and this fit the bill nicley. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep. The only down side was that the Wi-Fi was virtually unusable and the aircon was old and noisy. Overall though it was a good little motel and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear HappyTravelersVR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you found our rooms to be very comfortable and clean. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you had with the wireless internet and the air conditioner. We are already making improvements to our wireless internet to make it more secure and faster for our guests. The air conditioners that we have are nearly the same in all the rooms, but we will take a look at them to see if any of them need to be replaced due to the concern you expressed. However, I am glad we provided you value with our clean and comfortable rooms, and that your overall experience was great. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there one night. Room/bathroom was clean and the mattress was decent. Lives up to its reviews. Good proximity to the University, 4th Ave and downtown The area is not in the best part of town, there were some transients passing by on Stone but I never felt unsafe. Pool was well maintained The manager Henry is very friendly and helpful. There were some issues with their internet having slow connectivity. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear dwingo,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn. I am happy knowing you found our bed and room to be comfortable and clean. Our location is central so we have lots of fun things to do around. Since we are close to downtown and the University of Arizona, we have people from all walks of life. We have been running this Inn for the past 20+ years and have always had a focus on safety insuring our guests feel safe and comfortable. We do have a wonderful pool, which is nice to cool down in during the hot summer days. I am happy to hear you had a great customer service experience. I am glad you brought up the internet concern. We have consistently been working with our internet to make it faster and more secure. We have just ordered new signal boosters to provide even a greater signal into the rooms. By the next time you visit us again we should have them up and running. I am happy to hear you had a good experience staying at our Inn and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit us!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the amenities, it's hard to call this a budget motel. Though the breakfast was minimal, it still was more than I expected given the rate of $45/night.

The bed was good, the shower clean, the AC worked well, and the location seemed safe.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear massiek,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am pleased knowing your stay went well. Indeed, we do have a lot of amenities for the price that you pay, which is why we focus on value, value, and value. Glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and the room clean. I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Address: 950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.