We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Tucson

Save Saved
You added University Inn Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Tucson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5 off room rate
Ranked #47 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for somthing cheep and cheerful near to the university and this fit the bill nicley. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep. The only down side was that the Wi-Fi was virtually unusable and the aircon was old and noisy. Overall though it was a good little motel and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear HappyTravelersVR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you found our rooms to be very comfortable and clean. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you had with the wireless internet and the air conditioner. We are already making improvements to our wireless internet to make it more secure and faster for our guests. The air conditioners that we have are nearly the same in all the rooms, but we will take a look at them to see if any of them need to be replaced due to the concern you expressed. However, I am glad we provided you value with our clean and comfortable rooms, and that your overall experience was great. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
20
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there one night. Room/bathroom was clean and the mattress was decent. Lives up to its reviews. Good proximity to the University, 4th Ave and downtown The area is not in the best part of town, there were some transients passing by on Stone but I never felt unsafe. Pool was well maintained The manager Henry is very friendly and helpful. There were some issues with their internet having slow connectivity. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear dwingo,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn. I am happy knowing you found our bed and room to be comfortable and clean. Our location is central so we have lots of fun things to do around. Since we are close to downtown and the University of Arizona, we have people from all walks of life. We have been running this Inn for the past 20+ years and have always had a focus on safety insuring our guests feel safe and comfortable. We do have a wonderful pool, which is nice to cool down in during the hot summer days. I am happy to hear you had a great customer service experience. I am glad you brought up the internet concern. We have consistently been working with our internet to make it faster and more secure. We have just ordered new signal boosters to provide even a greater signal into the rooms. By the next time you visit us again we should have them up and running. I am happy to hear you had a good experience staying at our Inn and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit us!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the amenities, it's hard to call this a budget motel. Though the breakfast was minimal, it still was more than I expected given the rate of $45/night.

The bed was good, the shower clean, the AC worked well, and the location seemed safe.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear massiek,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am pleased knowing your stay went well. Indeed, we do have a lot of amenities for the price that you pay, which is why we focus on value, value, and value. Glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and the room clean. I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed there may 8-10. It truely lived up to reviews on tripadvisor. It was inexpensive. The room was clean . I walked to the university twice and to 4th ave shops once. The continental breakfast was good and included rolls, fruit and coffee. The freeway was easily accessed. Stone steet was noisy at times but seemed to quiet down at night. The pool was on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear sea-mike,

Thank you for taking your time writing a review about our Inn. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant experience staying at our Inn. As you know, we pride ourselves in the quality of our rooms and the price that we charge so it's great to hear you found them to be clean and inexpensive. Our location is indeed beneficial due to the closeness to downtown, the University of Arizona, and the popular shopping, bar, and restaurant district, 4th Avenue. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Since we are next to two main streets there is the typical noise from the street during the day, but just like you had mentioned they do get quiet during the evening time. Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location (quiet area between University and downtown). University Inn is an modest economy motel in an older building. Driving up, it is not impressive to look at. Usually, this is a formula for a bad experience. Not the case here- very clean and quiet with a comfortable bed and regular TV (non-flat screen). Refrigerator and microwave... a pool but it looks a bit lame. AC worked great. Bathroom dated but in good condition and very clean. Room was fair sized.

The closest thing to a complaint is that the breakfast is pretty bad and coffee very bad.

If staying here, be sure to go to nearby 4th Ave, area called "Pie Allen". It is walking distance (maybe 10 blocks away) or you can drive there - plenty of free parking. This seems like the strip for student nightlife and cheap eats.

I have paid a whole lot more than $61 (including taxes) and gotten a whole lot less. University Inn is 100% value. I would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear DGeig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the cleanliness and comfortable rooms. We did upgrade our AC thermostats so that is great to hear it worked well for you.

We are taking your comments into consideration about our breakfast as we continue to work to make it better. It also might please you to know we are planning some improvements at our Inn, some of which you talked about, but we will be leaving it as a surprise so hopefully by the time you visit back you will be able to enjoy the improvements. It also pleases me to hear that you found our Inn to be "100% value". We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms at a budget friendly price. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I don´t understand where all the good ratings come from. The furnishing is dated. The nearby road will keep you awake or at least wake you up in the early morning. The breakfast is a joke. The pool is literally next to the street.
The location is good though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Al M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our motel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We appreciate all feedback whether it is good or bad. In addition to maintaining a very safe, clean, and friendly environment, we are always looking for areas to improve. We are a family owned and operated business for the past 20+ years and majority of our business comes from repeat guests who enjoy their stay here. We have worked extremely hard for decades to merit the positive support of those who visit our Inn.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back and would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly if you give us another chance to serve you again. Please ask for Henry next time you visit.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope the remainder of your stay in Tucson was enjoyable.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I gave this place four stars - not because it's a 4-star hotel, but because, within its own category of lower-priced hotels it is safe, economical, clean, has comfortable beds. The rooms are very basic, no frills. But we wanted a place to sleep comfortably at a bargain price. You can walk up to the very cool area where there are good places to eat - a throwback to the hippie era. It's 4th ave, or 4th st. and while there, eat at Lindy's Diner on 4th! Awesome burgers! Tucson (and Phoenix) are full of "historical neighborhoods" and this hotel is located inside of one. Surrounded by interesting residences, very fun to walk 10 blocks in various directions and check out. Another great place to eat is Cafe a la C'art, near downtown. Again - this is not a fancy place, basic as it gets. Breakfast is minimal - instead go to Cafe Marcel on 4th and have a crepe!

Room Tip: Upstairs, away from the main street. Non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear limjello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and this is exactly what you were looking for, a bargain price yet clean and comfortable place to stay. We have many basic amenities that we offer and try to exceed the standard of what motels provide in our category. With that said, we do offer free continental breakfast which includes many additional items. Some motels in our category do not even provide breakfast or just maybe something very small. Just like you said, if you want a big breakfast meal there are many options nearby. Thank you for all the recommendations on where to go and places to eat, we indeed have a lot of things to do around if you are willing to take a 15 minute walk. It sounds like you had an awesome time here with your visit. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to serve you again next time you visit Tucson!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Address: 950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.