We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Tucson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn Tucson to your Saves list
University Inn Tucson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Needed to stay somewhere cheap on a business trip. Good location. Clean, comfortable room. Ample fridge and microwave and lots of channels on cable TV. Reliable, free(!) wifi. Will stay again on another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 44agac,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your direct kind words. We are indeed centrally located, provide clean and comfortable rooms with many amenities like our free wireless internet. We strive to serve people who like you, want a clean place but don't want to spend a lot of money for a good nights sleep. Again thank you for your kind words and we hope to serve you again next time you come visit Tucson!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
20
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, BC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The "breakfast" was pretty awful, and they charged for Wi-Fi (4 hours for $2, and you couldn't save what you paid for so that you could use some in the evening and some in the morning). Very run of the mill. Wouldn't stay here again at the price charged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Mmmickey55,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding our motel. We did attempt to contact you to give you a refund for the internet time that you had bought and to get more feedback, but we were left waiting for your reply. I am sorry that your stay was not all that it could be, however I would like to comment on your statements.

I apologize that the breakfast was "awful" according to you, but you never specified why. A lot of motels in our direct competition do not provide breakfast at all and even the ones that do, don't provide as much as we do for our breakfast. The start of this year we introduced more items to our breakfast which include the following: coffee, tea, donuts, orange juice, cereal, milk, bread, bagels, pastries, and fruit. We make a continuous effort in how to make our breakfast even better. At the rates that we charge we exceed the standard of what to provide to our guests for breakfast. It also might be good to know we personally buy all the breakfast items from the local markets and keep them fresh to serve.

I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you had regarding the wireless internet. We have had free wireless internet for over 10+ years and never have we purposely charged our guests. We recently upgraded our wireless system to make it more secure. We provide you with a free access code that you type into our homepage and it lets you use our free wireless internet. There was an option at the bottom of the page for external users to use our wireless internet by paying for it and so we assume that is what you did and accidentally paid to use the free wireless internet (we did get rid of that option now so guests don't get confused). Since we care about our guests and do not like to displease any of them, we did reach out to you to refund the money you spent on buying the internet time, but we are waiting for a reply.

Here at the University Inn Motel we certainly do not believe we are a resort, but what we do have is a great balance of what we provide and what we charge our guests. You can find motels cheaper than us and motels that charge a lot more, but we maximize on providing the most amenities, highest standard of cleanliness, and exceptionally customer service, all without charging outrageous prices for a good nights sleep. We have built our own brand and majority of our guests are regulars who keep coming back because of the great balance in quality and the rates that we charge. Again I am sorry for the inconveniences you had and do hope you give us another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this inn just one night and found it to be very average. During check in we were not given the kind of room we had reserved and had to go back and have it corrected. The location is not in the most desirable area and there is limited access to restaurants. The towels were very small and thin. If you are looking for a good value, this may be your place. We would look around before booking this motel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sunshine35507,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel on TripAdvisor. I want to apologize first most for not being able to accommodate you into the room type you had initially reserved. My best assumption would be that we put you into a 2 bed room instead of a 1 bed room or vice versa. However, I am glad we were able to sort it out and accommodate you into the type of room you had reserved. Our location is centrally located and yes we do agree there are not many restaurants within 5 minutes of walking, but within a mile radius (15 minute walking distance) we have not only the popular 4th avenue bar, restaurant, and shopping district but the University of Arizona college campus which has many restaurants on its main gate center. I noticed that you said the towels were "very small and thin", so I am sure you would be pleased to know we are working on getting new towels. By any means we do not consider ourselves a resort, but we provide very clean rooms and many amenities that not even high end hotels offer. All that at a reasonable price for travelers who do not want to put a dent in their wallets for a good nights sleep. I apologize again for any inconveniences you might have had during your stay and hope that you give us another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This motel is in a central location with good amenities including fridge and microwave - which is nice for a multiple night stay. The rooms are clean, the staff very helpful and the price is right. One of the best secrets is the comfortable bed and good pillows - very important part of the stay. They also offer a complementary extended continental breakfast available in the lobby. All in all I found the rooms comfortable with good amenities and a very good bed - which is really important to me. This is my motel of choice when going to Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Beverly W,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor about our property. We are indeed centrally located and provide many amenities like you have mentioned. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows! Just like you have said, we do provide complementary extended continental breakfast. Funny story is that our breakfast amenities continue to grow over the years become larger and larger to giving customers a wide variety of choice on what to eat. With the price our customers pay and for the amenities you get, we try to exceed expectations. Our clientele are people who want a clean, comfortable room with necessary amenities, at a good price. I am also very glad to hear that the University Inn Motel is your "motel of choice when going to Tucson". Thank you again for your kind comments and hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and found our hosts to be very helpful and friendly. The king bed room is well laid out and the room was always very clean on our return each day. We slept very well with great bed and pillows. If you leave the bathroom window open you may here an occasional whistle of a train but otherwise there is very little noise. Even aircon is low volume.
Whilst here the hosts were changing over wifi and had some problems. They were so keen to fix it that our ipad became a "test" machine and they phoned and returned it when all fixed. Great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Dianna C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you had an excellent 5 night stay at our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our bed and pillow. We do have the train tracks pretty far away from the motel but at night even at a distance you can sometimes hear it if you are a light sleeper. Indeed you are correct, we were in the process of changing our Wifi internet to make it more secure for our customers and I am glad we swiftly got it all worked out for you. Again I would like to thank you for all your nice comments and we hope to serve you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a surprisingly well-equipped motel for the price. Big room, desk, bath, amenities, plus free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. All for a very modest price. Only concern for light sleepers - there is a rail line nearby, so I did hear trains a few times. I was there for less than 12 hours, for an early meeting at the university, so this fit the bill perfectly. Try it and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Second floor will avoid the lights from the cars parked in front of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Barbara9286,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that one of your initial thoughts were about how our motel was "well-equipped". We have invested much energy into providing all the essential amenities our guests would need such as TVs with many channels, free wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron, comfortable beds, and much more! We also provide free breakfast every morning, all at a reasonable price for our guests. We are much a distance away from the railroad tracks, but we wish just as much as you if the trains would be quite at night for light sleepers all around. Unfortunately we do not have the ability to do that so we do manage with it. Being at a walking distance to the University and downtown, our motel is at a wonderful location. We thank you for all the kind comments and recommending this place to others. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a good motel in a good location, the staff were very helpful when I asked about restaurants near by. The room was clean and comfortable, a bit dated but I would stay again. The breakfast was nice, not a huge selection but nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Charlotte L,

I would like to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor about our motel. We are always ready to help, giving our best recommendations of the City of Tucson as we locals know it. I am glad to hear you liked the cleanliness and comfortability of our rooms. As we progress through the year, we are constantly updating and revamping our property. We believe in providing the best balance of the quality of the rooms and at the rate at which our guests pay. Thank you for your generous comments and we do hope to serve you again next time you visit.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Address: 950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.