We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Tucson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn Tucson to your Saves list
University Inn Tucson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just right for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a surprisingly well-equipped motel for the price. Big room, desk, bath, amenities, plus free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. All for a very modest price. Only concern for light sleepers - there is a rail line nearby, so I did hear trains a few times. I was there for less than 12 hours, for an early meeting at the university, so this fit the bill perfectly. Try it and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Second floor will avoid the lights from the cars parked in front of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Barbara9286,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that one of your initial thoughts were about how our motel was "well-equipped". We have invested much energy into providing all the essential amenities our guests would need such as TVs with many channels, free wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron, comfortable beds, and much more! We also provide free breakfast every morning, all at a reasonable price for our guests. We are much a distance away from the railroad tracks, but we wish just as much as you if the trains would be quite at night for light sleepers all around. Unfortunately we do not have the ability to do that so we do manage with it. Being at a walking distance to the University and downtown, our motel is at a wonderful location. We thank you for all the kind comments and recommending this place to others. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
20
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a good motel in a good location, the staff were very helpful when I asked about restaurants near by. The room was clean and comfortable, a bit dated but I would stay again. The breakfast was nice, not a huge selection but nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Charlotte L,

I would like to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor about our motel. We are always ready to help, giving our best recommendations of the City of Tucson as we locals know it. I am glad to hear you liked the cleanliness and comfortability of our rooms. As we progress through the year, we are constantly updating and revamping our property. We believe in providing the best balance of the quality of the rooms and at the rate at which our guests pay. Thank you for your generous comments and we do hope to serve you again next time you visit.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennepetal, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is already the 6th or 7th year that I stay here for around a week during the annual Tucson Gem show Event. Size of the rooms is very nice and You find all that You need for a stay like fridge, microwave and even a hot iron. The owner keeps his house in really good condition. But most of all I enjoy the hospitality Henry( the owner) and his family provide to their guests. When I visit Tucson this is my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Claus H,

Thank you for being such a loyal customer and writing a review on us on TripAdvisor. I appreciate all the gracious comments you have given us. We do include many amenities just like you have said, "fridge, microwave and even a hot iron", in all our rooms. We wish you luck with your business and we hope to see you again for your 8th or so yearly gem show stay at our motel.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sometimes I just need a place to sleep and don't want to break the bank. Staff was just as accomodating as if I was at a five star hotel. Room was clean without that awful chemical smell so often found in budget places. Will stay again.

Room Tip: I requested ground floor and was given ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Donna S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience at our motel. We strive to provide very clean rooms at a reasonable price. It was so kind of you to compare us to a five star hotel. We look forward to serving you again next time you visit!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you don't need all of the trimmings of a fancy hotel, this is the place to stay...Clean, comfortable, quiet, great location, with an extremely kind and accomodating staff. All this for a great price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Starr T,

Thank you for your kind review. You could not have said it any better, our hotel is a "clean, comfortable, quiet, great location, with an extremely kind and accommodating staff". Thank you again for you kind comments and hope to see you again with your family next time you come to Tucson, AZ.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for one day visit of Tucson and i have to first of all say that the hotel location was excellent...It is walking distance to the good restaurants, the university of Arizona campus and Rialto Theatre. The building staff were very friendly, my room was clean, complex area was quiet during the night, internet speed was good, beds were very comfortable and I feel well rested!

If I ever come back to Tucson I am definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Dan M,

I would like to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you again for your kind words about our property. We are centrally located, which is convenient for customers like you who like to see the city. I am glad to hear you liked our free highspeed internet. Again thank you for your comments and we will be happy to serve you again next time you visit!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the University Inn on many occasions over the years. I find it to be clean, comfortable, and a great value. It's within walking distance to the University of Arizona and centrally located to shoppping areas and restaurants and close to downtown and the UofA campus and UofA Medical Center. Mr. Patel and family are extremely nice and I would highly recommend this pleasant motel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear realpriscilla,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay. It is wonderful to see that you have been a loyal customer who keeps coming back due to our service and quality. Thank you for recommending the University Inn Motel and as always, we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Address: 950 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.