We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 North Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I stayed here for three nights toward the end of June. Front desk personnel was very kind and attentive. The suite we had was very clean, organized and comfortable. We had a living room area with couch, chair, desk and tv plus a separate bedroom with two queen beds. The bathroom was clean and bright and the towels were fluffy too. Both beds were comfortable but a little on the hard side. Several feather pillows are provided as well.
The location to downtown Tucson is very convenient since it's right off the highway and close proximity to the Convention Center.
The inn also offers a full, hot breakfast each morning and it's incredible! There are many choices from cereal, oatmeal, belgian waffles, sausage, bacon, eggs, potatoes, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels, etc. And always fresh hot coffee! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    67
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
66
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was staying at this hotel from out of town on business. I was enjoying a peaceful breakfast with the friendly staff. One of the ladies left the room and the manager was there. I believe his name was Dave. When this employee returned less than a minute later this manager started screaming at her in front of all of us at the contential breakfast. I believe she told him she was using the restroom, and he kept screaming at her and then told her to get out. I believe this is the most unprofessional behavior coming from management staff. I truly believe I will avoid staying at this hotel due to the behavior I unfortunatly witnessed. Poor management is no place for a nice hotel like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
210DavidP210, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I apologize for your having witnessed this confrontation. After many years in the hotel business, you would think I would have learned not to recruit family members to help out during busy times. I assure you this was a "family" squabble, not an employer/employee matter. This is no excuse for your having witnessed this unprofessional display by myself. I will strive to make sure this never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel was great however, I witnessed the manager screaming at an employee like a raving maniac. I was horrifed and felt so bad for her. Not sure what prompted the outrage but it was very unprofessional and left a lasting impression.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's not often you find an excellent hotel along an interstate freeway, but I found one in Tucson this week, the Country Inn & Suites. I took my grand-daughter and 2 great-grand-daughters to Tucson for a Mexican Fiesta Day and wanted to make sure we stayed at a safe and clean nearby hotel. I was skeptical about this freeway location, but previous Trip Advisor reviewers had given it good ratings. They were right.

Even though we had rooms on the freeway side, we could not hear a single bit of road noise. The rooms were large, clean and had all the amenities of a much more expensive hotel, including a refrigerator and a microwave. Upon checking in, the kids were thrilled with the cookies at the front desk and were given packages of trail mix and one of popcorn for later popping in the room. The pool was perfect after a hot summer drive in the desert and the exercise room a welcome feature before the hot breakfast the next morning. The A/C noise does not detract from the value of this hotel. Add a most helpful and friendly staff and this place gets my top rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a long day on the road we checked in and specifically requested a room close to the internet router so we could conduct some business via email on our laptop. The room was comfortable & clean, but despite our request the Wi-Fi was slower than dial-up. The webpage couldn't load up to view our email or the news ... and NO there is nothing wrong with our brand new laptop. Completely dysfunctional regardless of the time of day. If hotels are going to advertise Wi-Fi then they need to supply adequate band-width for the number of rooms they rent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and love it every time I visit. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We have two children and feel welcomed by the staff! If you have a family, this is the perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It appears as if this is a new hotel. It is well kept and welcoming. We enjoyed our visit. The location right off of I-10 is very convenient especially to the Tucson Convention Center. Two lights, turn east, three blocks and you are there. This hotel does have an elevator. The lobby cookies and candy are a nice touch.
Why not 5 stars? The bathroom fan was very loud. Stains on the ottoman. You could not access one of the hotel doors with your room key. When this room key situation was brought to the attention of the front desk, they responded as if to say, yes that is the way it is for that particular door. Lastly, there is no Express check-out. You must return the key(s) upon your departure.
These things will not deter another visit from me but my hopes are that they will eventually improve. Otherwise, a very pleasant and accommodating visit. The free breakfast was also good - what you would normally expect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the West side away from the highway - no sounds at all from the highway. The west side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ

Address: 705 North Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tucson City Center
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center, AZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.