We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 North Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good hotel, would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel a total of 3 nights. Overall I would rate this a good hotel. Not excellent, but still rather pleasant. The staff was good, the breakfast was ok (paper plates, plastic silverware, runny dehydrated eggs, ok sausage patties, ok bacon), the water pressure in the shower was *horrible*! Luckily we had two nights at a resort in Tucson in the middle of this stay so could actually take a shower. We stayed in the upgraded "Jacuzzi" suite of which they had 2 in the hotel. The pressure of the jets were a joke. VERY low quality, although quite loud. Typical elephants staying in the suite above us so we got to hear them walk back and forth most of the night, and got to hear their Jacuzzi tub going until about 11:30pm.

The room was decent, and fairly typical for a small one room suite. Nothing to spectacular, just your standard. The rate was rather expensive for the size of the room we thought.

We didn't try the outdoor pool as it was out in front and not very private. The hotel was right next to the freeway and this suite of course was on the freeway side, so you do hear traffic most of the night.

The business center had two computers and only one of those were hooked up to a printer, so the last night when I tried to check-in to our flight I had to wait until almost 11pm to get that one printer free. Why they didn't have both computers hooked to the printer I don't know. Or a network printer so I could print things from my laptop.

The free cool water was a great benefit! The free internet worked flawlessly and was fairly quick. The TV had plenty of channels and although not the biggest set we've had, it was a good decent size.

Overall a good experience and we would recommend this to others. Just don't waste your money on the Jacuzzi suite.

Room Tip: Do not get a Jacuzzi suite! Also, try to get a room on the other side of the freeway for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    66
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
65
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This has become our favorite hotel when visiting the Tucson area. It is a small chain hotel, not unlike a Holiday Inn Express, but it has the feel of a much nicer place. It was built in 2009 so everything is fairly new. The rooms are very nice with all the amenities including fridge, microwave, thermostat controlled heating, free wi-fi, good lighting, flat screen TV's, and a coffee maker that actually makes good coffee. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They include one of the best breakfasts I have every encountered with a large selection from which to choose. They also provide free cookies and bottled water for guests. Everything about this hotel seems clean and well maintained. There is ample well-lighted parking and the location is only a few blocks from downtown without actually being in downtown. It has very easy freeway access but is close to the freeway so you will get some noise from trucks and the nearby train on the front side of the building.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should stay away from the front side and the ice maker. Pick the third floor to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Light sleepers beware. Friendly service, clean rooms, free breakfast, complimentary cookies, all of which this place has, may not compensate for the snoring next door, the ice machine crashing down the hall and Big Foot lumbering above. Apparently, wall insulation has gone the way of the green building code, out the window. As for the free breakfast, if you want to bulk up on fried meat and eggs slathered in processed cheese this is your spot. Just don't forget the statins and definitely opt for the thermos with the strong coffee. It's pretty good and will get you down the road to the next freeway oasis, maybe in time for an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the freeway and hope you have quiet neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here (two of us) Thursday through Sunday in the middle of the Gem & Mineral Show. The location is optimal for browsing nearby exhibitors' tents and is relatively close to downtown Tucson's Convention Center and other areas of interest even beyond the Gems & Mineral Show.

We picked a third floor room, not facing the nearby freeway. Quiet night, firm, queen size beds. The room had all the amenities we wanted: microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee-maker, Wi-Fi and TV. The beds were firm, perhaps a bit too firm. The bathroom was clean and large with modern fixtures.

Other features we really appreciated were the hotel's supplying free bottles of water, fruit, a good complementary breakfast, cookies, and even string cheese! We didn't use the Fitness Room, which looked OK, but would have used the outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi except that they were located in front where you have to walk out of the hotel front door to use, which afforded less privacy than we'd have wished.

Parking was free and ample, which was important, because the neighboring Ramada Inn, which shares a common street entrance, was taken over by Gem & Mineral show vendors.

Service was cheerful and check-in was prompt. I don't know how

Room Tip: No freeway noise, if you pick a room not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Well situated for exploring the city of Tucson, The Country Inn and Suites fills the bill with a modern, clean, comfortable hotel. The beds are good. The breakfast is complete. The staff is friendly and helpful, the management responds to questions. It is not a resort, nor ought it be compared to one. But among its many similar neighbors in the area, it rises well above them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff is friendly and fun in addition to helpful. The breakfasts were great and had a variety of items such as scrambled eggs, French toast, oatmeal and fresh fruit every morning. Cookies were baked every day and were available at the check-in counter in a cookie jar. Oranges and apples are also available throughout the day. It is in a very central location and while you really can't walk anywhere except for a walking trail in the back, it is a quick drive to many of the popular tourist locations. We had a one bedroom suite which was perfect for us as I get up much earlier than my husband and this allowed me to do so without disturbing him. It was nice to have a sofa and easy chair to relax on in the evenings. As it can get quite hot out there, it was nice to see water bottles provided free of charge in a refrigerator in the lobby. The windows in the bedroom opened which allowed us to sleep with them open instead of having the air conditioner blowing on us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back as the ones in front overlook the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here for a full week and loved it. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are modern, attractive, clean, and spacious (including bathroom). Both a refrigerator and microwave were tucked away in the room. Wifi and parking both are free. The breakfasts also are free and had enough variety to make them interesting, including both traditional breakfast foods and healthy options. Next to the front desk, there were free refrigerated bottles of water, fruit, muffins, and cookies (we ate these for lunch every day so Country Inns basically took care of 2 meals a day for us). The location is very convenient: close to downtown Tucson (about 1.5 miles), but also a short drive to the mountain ranges surrounding Tucson, where we spent most days hiking. Staying closer to downtown might have been fun, but then we would have had to pay more plus we wouldn't have had the free breakfast and other amenities. We had an excellent experience combined with low rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center

Address: 705 North Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#23 Family Hotel in Tucson
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tucson City Center
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.