We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginza Sushi

Ginza Sushi
5425 N Kolb Rd # 115, Tucson, AZ 85750-0746
(520) 529-8877‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,686 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've now eaten at Ginza 3-4 times, and we have eaten at most of the Sushi restaurants in town and Ginza really stands out. Fresh, tasty, knowledgeable servers and interesting specials. At our most recent dinner there were 4 of us. The highlight was the specials- A mackerel (think smoked), a slightly seared salmon, and another fish (striped bass?) that was lightly seasoned w/ sea salt and a vinaigrette. Excellent. Didnt need any soy. Got the standard fare too- misc nigiri, spicy tuna rolls, vegas and caterpillar rolls plus uni. The menu is very large w/ plenty of non-sushi items. If like Sushi need to try it

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sushi in Arizona - jewel of the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I travel all over the west cost, lived in California for most of my life and know sushi! First time in Tucson 10 year ago, no sushi was acceptable. Ginza however is now my favorite place in the West. Chef owner and family run. Always amazingly fresh, superbly perpared and good portions. A jewel in the desert!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Sushi to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing place, the food was some of the best we have eaten on our trip. Everything we tried was perfect, the Ika Geso, fried calamari gorgeous and full of flavour. The Nasu Agedashi, fried Japanese eggplant was a complete revelation and something I will be looking for on future menu's. The jumbo pork Gyoza dumplings and the Shumai pork steamed dumplings were exceptionally delicious. The nigiri and maki all exceptional, I cannot rave enough about the food it was wonderful. To top it off you have smiling faces and exceptional service. We were delighted to find such a fantastic gem in Tucson and have every intention of returning before we leave to go back to England.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My daughter, husband and I decided to try Ginza based on the reviews we found here. We are from the east coast so are able to find excellent sushi there. We were delighted to find that Ginza Sushi offers excellent, fresh sushi and sashimi at a reasonable price. The sashimi pieces are larger than we have found at other restaurants and the sushi rolls were delicious. We also had gyoza dumplings, delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“always fresh and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

let the old man make it for you and you will not be disappointed! this place is a staple for us when in Tucson. North end town but, worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginza Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Ginza Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginza Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.