We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina State Park

Catalina State Park
11570 Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ
520-628-5798
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful park north of Tucson is great for hiking, picnicking and other outdoors activities.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great place to go hiking, there are different paths you can take and most of them have beautiful views all along. There are trails for beginners and for more advanced hikers. The trails are clean, clear and you get to see the beautiful flora of Arizona. I did see a few rest stops along the way to allow people to picnic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    64
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hiking Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Catalina State Park has many good trails for hiking from easy to moderately difficult. The Romero Pools are a nice spot to rest and enjoy the water. The Romero Springs adds some challenge to the hike. The scenery is beautiful from the trails.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went with our RV Club. Clean, quiet set ups. Full hook ups.
Good washroom facilities. Wonderful hiking area - both flat land along the creeks and up into the Catalina Montains.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Catalina Mountain Foray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This park is not to be missed. I like the Romero Pools Trail, even if I don't always make it to the destination! Best to wear sturdy soled shoes or hiking boots. Lots of rocks to step up on and over; that's part of the fun of it! Just took a sundown hike the other day and was blown away by the gorgeous silhouette of the nearby and far-off mountains, and the sky in all shades of orange and gray.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited Catalina State Park for the first time this week, only for day hiking. It is easy to get to, has a fee at the entrance station, and paved roads to the parking lot where the restrooms are. The person at the gate gave us the warning and instructions on what to do if mountain lions were sighted, and there was a sign at the trail head with the same information. Since lions are nocturnal, and we were there midday in the heat of the summer, I didn't think we'd be so lucky and as it turned out, only two legged animals were there with the exception of a roadrunner and a dead tarantula. We did not see the trash mentioned in the other reviews, but then we were there mid week and perhaps good people volunteers had removed it from weekend traffic. We did the birding loop and part of the Romero Canyon hike. The desert vegetation here is absolutely lush and it was beautiful. We're used to hiking cross country so the paths and benches and signs were different for us, but it was well worth visiting and we plan to do so again. Strongly recommended for hikers of all ages. Did not run into any areas which would require boots (what we wore), most likely a good sturdy shoe is all you'd need. Be prepared for steep hills, though. And bring plenty of water, we went through 2 quarts pretty fast for two adults, and turned back when it ran out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina State Park also viewed

 

Been to Catalina State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.