We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good, go to china thai down the road instead” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China-Thai Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China-Thai Cuisine
6546 E Tanque Verde Rd, Tucson, AZ 85715
520-885-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #948 of 1,696 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not good, go to china thai down the road instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The decor is ok, but the food ist just below average. Although we were alone in the restaurant, the server was slow and we waited for the food which when it arrived was not delicious at all,.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“this is a great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

friendly service, and the lunch specials are delicious and filling. I love the hot and sour soup and Pad Thai and sweet Thai coffee. Great place and great value and good food, can't beat that combination...

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The good old days are gone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Unreal... been a regular at this establishment for a few decades now, no longer. Ordered Mongolian beef and BBQ pork low mien tonight. The Mongolian beef was in a light brown gravy, not the lovely dark gravy as customary. It also had Chinese five spice powder in it and not a hint of chili pepper, no green onion and a million white onion slices. The meat was fatty and "floppy", not firm and seared like the old recipe. It was horrible and inedible. The pork in the low mien was fatty and tasted like rancid fat.

So I called, to leave feedback, not to get a free meal, but to let them know that maybe the cooks screwed up. The response from the manager was rude and he attempted to be condescending. He put me on hold for 12 minutes, came back and said the beef was perfect, he didn't know what Chinese five spice powder is, the pork has no fat and maybe I just couldn't handle the heat of the chili's in the dish... Me? I put Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce on most everything I eat, it definitely was not too spicy, there was no spice at all. He then implied that I wanted a free meal and made it clear that my meal would not be refunded no would I receive a credit for a meal... Not once did I imply nor state that I was looking for any form of reimbursement.

I fully encourage my friends and family members to avoid this place, the good old days are gone

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite Thai in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We go here at least twice a month. All the curry sauces are very flavorful. Having 2 vegetarians in the family, we LOVE the assortment of vegetables used in the dishes, instead of the usual bag of mixed frozen peas, corn & carrots. Our 8yr old loves the veggy lomein, egg drop soup and their egg rolls. My personal fav is the panang. 2 additional things that I love is their online ordering, and that they still have the lunch specials on the weekend. When eating in the restaurant, I find the service good too, all at prices we can afford. Char's is our 2nd fav, mostly because of the lack of good vegetables.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Has gotten REALLY, BUT REALLY EXPENSIVE over the years. The only good thing is that the Lunch Menu is still affordable...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Has gotten REALLY, BUT REALLY EXPENSIVE over the years. The only good thing is that the Lunch Menu is still affordable for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China-Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to China-Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China-Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.