We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Grill

Signature Grill
3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, Tucson, AZ 85745
520-791-6064
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Signature Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 1,697 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Players Club Drive
Description: Using locally grown produce and foods inspired by Native American and Mexican traditions, Signature Grill features robust regionally inspired cooking with savory steaks, chops and seafood at a surprising level of value. The plentiful breakfast buffet and a la carte selections feature regional favorites as well as traditional offerings. Signature Grill’s patio offers breakfast or lunch under the sun or dinner under the stars. Signature Grill captures the essence of the region.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pricy but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Weather permitting, ask for a table on the balcony overlooking the resort pools and mountains. The scenery is gorgeous. While the dinner menu is very limited and expensive, the chef was more than willing to make accommodations for dietary needs. The service was about the best we've had anywhere. The presentation of the dishes was outstanding also. We ordered a bottle of Chardonnay. While it was very good, we wish they offered some less expensive "house" wines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWRestaurants, Marketing Coordinator at Signature Grill, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

Our restaurant is highly praised for the views we have of the pools and mountain areas. Our Sous Chef is always delighted to make an entree to accommodate any dietary needs. We are glad that you found your meal delightful.

During your next visit, we invite you to ask for our Resort Sommelier who can provide a suggestion for an exceptional house wine to complement your meal.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Crystal R.
Marketing Coordinator
Food & Beverage Team
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great service, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

While staying at the Starr Pass on business, I dined at the Signature Grill twice. Both experiences exceeded all expectations. Excellent service (especially our server, Martin!), and the food / drinks were perfect. Make sure you get a table outside on the terrace!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

great dinner and breakfast with even better views on terrace at night. ask to sit out side in the evening

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what would expect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would not recommend this restaurant at this resort. It would be a better experience to visit Primo or the Catalina Restaurant at this property. We had the Tuna App that was the thinnest piece of tuna was was sliced into about 10 pieces, the aioli sauce was wider that the tuna. We had the Paella (this was ok) except the seafood was dwarfed by the mound of rice. The NY Strip and Filet were cooked pretty well but the dish had no creativity. Wait Staff seemed to be on the inexperienced side but were fun and pleasant. There was no wine service for the bottle of champagne ($ 65.00) and I was charged 18% gratuity on the entire check because I had a certificate from restaurant.com. When I went and visited the next day to inquire about this with the dinner Service Manager he said that this was their policy even though there was no bottle service. He said that he would talk to the waitress. Well, it seemed he blamed this lack of service on the waitress when he is the dining room manager. It must have also been the bus persons fault that dinner plates that were taken off our table and not finished (we did not want the food to go) were scrapped into a single plate right in front of our table. The bus person said she had no idea that this was not proper in a "semi-fine" restaurant. Sounds like a lack of training on the dining room managers part. Great time in the resort for 3 days except our experience at this restaurant the next day when I went and spoke with him. We are talking about an $ 11 difference in tip that I wanted to give - $ 25.00 vs. $ 38.00 to write this review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our combined birthdays dinner here last night. The menu is short but includes all the necessary options: steaks, chops, ribs, chicken, fish plus paella and vegetable enchiladas. There was no Chef's Special last night, unfortunately. We began with chips and guac made fresh at our table. A good beginning. We both ordered the NY Strip and found them perfect, chared on the outside and done exactly to our specs. For desert we shared the best creme brulee I've ever had. Our server was Aneeta and she was attentive without being bothersome and very personable, making the evening even more fun. The view from the terrace is beautiful of downtown Tucson. Yes, prices here are definitely in the "special occassion" range, but the portions are large and the food excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature Grill also viewed

 

Been to Signature Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.