We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing cactus forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Mountain Park

Tucson Mountain Park
8451 West McCain Loop, Tucson, AZ 85735
(520) 724-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Forests, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 20,000-acre desert natural preserve that accommodates many outdoor activities.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“amazing cactus forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This review encompasses both Tucson Mt Park and Saguaro National Park (west); they are adjacent. We spent a delightful afternoon sightseeing in the parks, with a stop at the NPS visitor center to see the exhibits there. In April, when we visited, many cacti, including the extraordinary saguaro, are in bloom. We stopped repeatedly at road pulloffs to take pictures and marvel at these natural wonders and the views of the desert, mountains, and valleys. We also saw ground squirrels, a gila woodpecker, and 2 mule deer along the road as we drove. Although the Arizona Sonoran Desert Museum is in the park, we opted not to try to do both in one day, which turned out to be wise. It would have made for a much longer and more tiring, and less enjoyable day, rather than two pleasant ones.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hike Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A great place to explore when the weather is nice. Miles of trails to explore. Keep an eye out for reptiles, because they are all over. Great place to take photos when the wildflowers and cactus are in bloom. Make sure to give the bicycle riders some room on the narrow roads through the park.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Yetman Stone House is a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

You must have water, a hat, sunglasses and good hiking shoes. the trail is flat but very rocky. Take a camera for the sites along the way. chipmunks, wonderful Saquaro that you can touch. Jumping Chola got into my leg. Some people mountain bike it but be careful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice from a distance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Tucson Mountain Park is spectacular from the road because of the dramatic terrain and the huge number of cacti, but because it's a public park without any gates or fees, it also has quite a lot of graffiti, broken glass, and other signs of misuse. It's worth a visit, particularly if you're on your way to or from the Desert Museum or the west side of Saguaro National Park, but for a more pleasant experience I recommend Sabino Canyon (which unfortunately could not be farther away and still be in Tucson).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lots of easy to follow trails within the park. Best to hike early in the day as it's less crowded and cool!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Mountain Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.