We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Botanical Gardens

Tucson Botanical Gardens
2150 N. Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85712
520-326-9686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named by Reader’s Digest as the Best Secret Garden in America, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Café Botánica. Closed Thanksgiving, the second Sunday in October,Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, July 4.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went in mid June and the place was still so beautiful. My favorite part was the cactus gardens, and the café! Make sure to eat lunch here...the food was incredible!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    109
    32
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crown King, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“for those who like this sort of thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went in late May, a little warm and the butterflies had been moved out of the heat ? and you could see the heat beginning to affect the site; so go in cooler times. An impressive set of plant types in various layouts; my wife and I enjoyed it. The place has areas that feel like more upkeep and maintenance is needed but mostly pretty good. Price was excellent for what was offered.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is where I go when I want to enjoy beautiful vegetation in a peaceful, mostly shaded environment. The gift shop is special too--a great place to find unique jewelry at an affordable price, along with books, kitchen gifts, children's toys and much more. I recommend it for everyone, including families with children.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this park!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to this park to see the butterflies. The staff was knowlegable - price was fair. We enjoyed the park - walked around and saw everything. There is a gift shop as well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely in-town Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

TBG is a delighful mid-town urban oasis. Lovely facility with much to offer. My regret is that I do not make time to get there more often. There are galleries, gardens, education on planting and gardening successfully in the Sonoran Desert, interesting history about the area, special events, music and food. Check it out! Consider supporting this lovely gem through a membership or donation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Tucson Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Kim!
We appreciate your comments and support. We are so proud to provide a place of respite and beauty in the middle of an urban neighborhood and am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.