We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Botanical Gardens

Tucson Botanical Gardens
2150 N. Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85712
520-326-9686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named by Reader’s Digest as the Best Secret Garden in America, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Café Botánica. Closed Thanksgiving, the second Sunday in October,Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, July 4.
Denver CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I took my young child to the gardens. I'm not sure that I would recommend this for young children, as she was a little to young for the children's garden. However; we both really enjoyed wondering around the various gardens. There seemed to be a lot to see. We also were able to go see the butterflies, which I think was a visiting attraction. It was a great way to spend our time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    109
    32
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“You won't believe this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a taste of heaven in the center of town. With knowledgable guides you will learn about herbs and plants and butterflies that thrive in the desert. But this place is green and fairytale like. I love it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely botanical garden, so fun to walk around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Winding, meandering paths all over, lead to a huge variety of desert plants and flower arrangements. The children's garden is so much fun, lots of pretty tile walls, great photo ops for kids and families. When they have their butterfly pavilion, there are no words! Stunning butterflies and moths of all sizes, tons of them, everywhere. It's humid in there, but you just can't tear yourself away. Great family outing for young and older, easy walking, all flat. Closed shoes good, there is sand on the paths. Gift shop has fun, unique items as well

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This garden is a really good way to understand the the types of plants that grow in the Sonoran Desert, and to feel how the people who live there deal with a desire to grow things in an unforgiving landscape. There are well-groomed paths and well marked plants. It's a refuge from the extreme heat of a Tucson afternoon, while still giving you a sense of a tranquil walk. It was not crowded when we were there, so it was an opportunity to wander at your own pace.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“relaxing and breath taking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Enjoyable for family and kids. The gift shop has a nice selection of gifts. I was here when the butterfly exhibit was here and we all enjoyed that.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.