We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cactus and Sculpture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tohono Chul Park

Tohono Chul Park
7366 N. Paseo del Norte, Tucson, AZ 85704
520 742 6455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cultivate your appreciation for the Sonoran Desert’s natural beauty and the impression it makes on everyone who explores our “Desert Corner”. Here, the seasons inspire wondrous events both in nature and culturally; Tohono Chul celebrates every opening, whether for an internationally known artist or an exquisite cactus flower. Wander the natural desert gardens—escape the noise of everyday. Engage in our sincere passion to evolve “The Desert Corner” as an integral crossroads of nature, art and culture.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cactus and Sculpture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful botanical gardens with a variety of pathways through different terrains and desert themes. Sculptures dot the park throughout. Great place for photos.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    117
    38
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great cross-section of natural desert life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I discovered this place at night, when sitting outside dining across the street at Pei-Wei. I asked an employee where the music was coming from, and he didn't know. So after I finished my supper, I drove out seeking the sound. I found the Park and was able to slip in to enjoy the final tunes of a good jazz band. I returned for a couple of daytime visits and enjoyed the samplings of desert plant life. They have a nifty gift shop too.
Check out the music series whenever you are able!
THe family enjoyed a lunch at the restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT LOUIS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been to Tucson a dozen or so times in as many years and had never heard of Tohon Chul Park. It is a very unique place with gardens, art galleries, wonderful interpretive graphics about geology and history of the area, and a fantastic restaurant. I particularly liked the exhibitions on water conservation and gardening and the ethnobotanical gardens. I learned a lot and had a wonderfully pleasant walk around the grounds. It was delightful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It seems to expensive for what it has to offer. You can see it all stoping by the road and walking in the desert for free.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Treasured Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tohono Chul Park has been one of the "must" visits for all our visitors, as well as a place I like to go myself. Besides a great gift shop, it has a wonderful educational program about the desert plants.....their Christmas Lights Nights around the holidays are a must.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tohono Chul Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tohono Chul Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.