We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Garden's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tohono Chul Park

Tohono Chul Park
7366 N. Paseo del Norte, Tucson, AZ 85704
520 742 6455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 177 attractions in Tucson
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cultivate your appreciation for the Sonoran Desert’s natural beauty and the impression it makes on everyone who explores our “Desert Corner”. Here, the seasons inspire wondrous events both in nature and culturally; Tohono Chul celebrates every opening, whether for an internationally known artist or an exquisite cactus flower. Wander the natural desert gardens—escape the noise of everyday. Engage in our sincere passion to evolve “The Desert Corner” as an integral crossroads of nature, art and culture.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This botanical garden was laid out perfect. What a nice walk around the grounds. The volunteer's that help out are most informative. Each grouping has a metal art sculpture. They are beautiful. The local artists did a great job displaying their art work. I would love to go back to enjoy their restaurant. It was packed and the wait was too long. I talked to several people waiting and they said the food is great, that is why they returned. It seems to be a very popular spot. It was an very interesting stop. I will be going back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    102
    34
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Tucson Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Tohono Chul is truly a delightful place. It has evolved into something quite lovely through the years. I especially love to visit when spring wildflowers are in bloom, the delightful colors and varieties are a true joy to the senses. Tohono Chul is filled with many different gardens along winding paths that traverse the garden. There are many benches along the way for one to stop, sit and enjoy the beauty. There are also many pieces of amazing sculpture integrated into the park which make it even more special. I always love the art gallery in the original home on the property, always a beautiful display. The Children's Garden, Sin Aqua Garden, Demonstration Gardens are spectacular. The ramadas and loops one can walk including a saguaro loop is always something I enjoy. The grounds are lush and amazing and always a delight to the senses.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Birds, Birds, BIRDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the most fabulous birding experience I have had in years. Of course it's spring, the perfect time of year to see great color on birds, to see them courting, to see them nesting, etc. And what a gorgeous park. I will visit EVERY time I am in Tucson.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“After your lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Free admission after lunching at the restaurant - nice gift shop and plants.
Restaurant a great outdoor setting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMadge43, Manager at Tohono Chul Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Frank,

We're so glad you enjoyed our grounds, but would just like to clarify that there is not free admission to the grounds and Exhibit House after lunch. At sometimes during the year we sometimes offer a buy one get one free admission with the purchase of two entrees at the Garden Bistro (or half off if you are dining by yourself). We just don't want people to be disappointed if we are not running that special when they arrive. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nature Lovers Attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A desert is Not just a desert - in the hands of the enthusiastic and caring Tohono Chul volunteers at the desert gardens. Cacti galore, on many trails do wander and seek wildlife and bird life as well. There are also quirky sculptures throughout the park done by talented local artists that are for sale if you wish to but. But around each corner of the gardens there are different areas with ways of using in your backyard if you so desire. Plants can be purchased.
They have a wonderful bookshop / gift shop as well. An on site art gallery is also free to peruse.
The restaurant was open, but at 1pm on a Thursday afternoon, we were quite surprised to have to wait to be seated. Obviously good food.
In all a good visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tohono Chul Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tohono Chul Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tohono Chul Park to your Saves list