We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7411 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Sale
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good, solid hotel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Quality Inn & Suites on North Oracle is far enough to the north of town to actually be in the suburb of Oro Valley (or so said the deskclerk). But the price was right, and the property turned out to be a very nice place to overnight at while attending a convention in town. The hotel has external access to the rooms, which was okay with me. The room I had on the 2nd floor was smaller than I expected, but quite satisfactory for one person. Everything was neat and clean. A/C worked fine, though seemed a touch noisy -- again, no problem for me. Bed included the smaller, square pillows that some hotels seem to be preferring these days. That's fine.... Hotel's wireless guest service worked fine and on the first try. The cost of the room was quite acceptable: under $75/night and included breakfast. The meal room was cheery and provided ample seating for guests (including some tables outside for those wishing to break their fast 'al fresco'). The breakfast was ample and varied and allowed me to skip lunch without a problem.
It's a 400-meter walk to the nearest gas station for snacks or drinks. There is a grocery store only a little further beyond that on the far corner of Oracle Rd. and Ina Rd.
Overall, despite the 20-minute or so distance from downtown, I was very pleased with this hotel and will certainly keep it on my shortlist for next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the north side. This is far away enough from the traffic noise on Oracle Road, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    82
    18
    19
    11
See reviews for
73
78
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Convenient to the north side of Tucson and fit my budget for this trip. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet (which I was concerned about because I had a corner room by the stairs). Check-in and -out was quick and easy. The breakfast was fair, which is how I feel about almost all motel breakfasts. Even though the weather was great for swimming, I didn't try out the pool; which looked well maintained. I opted to golf at the nearby par 3 (Quail Canyon). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A little more expensive than Red Roof but worth the money. Helpful staff. High thread count sheets made bed extra comfortable. clean room. Nice breakfast and Wall Street Journal complimentary. Would recommend to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I decided to stay here with my family last week due to the decent reviews on tripadvisor, the price and their location, but I regret my decision. For starters, our sheets were dirty! I will spare the details of what I saw on the sheets, but immediately contacted the front desk and they sent housekeeping over to change everything. Although the sheets were changed, it was too late as I was disgusted. Luckily we were only there for two nights. The rooms definitely need updating and their only air conditioner was located in the bedroom which made the separate living area extremely hot as the cool air didn't reach. I do not recommend this hotel and suggest you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This motel is really nice looking on the outside and in the courtyard. We had a suite, which gave us two rooms with a TV in each and a door between. Good cookies at the desk.The rate was pretty low, too. But...there were lots of little things that were annoying we would not stay there again. The desk chair had a broken arm. There was a fan in the wall between the rooms that constantly blew air from the bedroom where the HVAC unit was into the sitting room. It was noisy and could not be turned off. The HVAC unit cycled rather deeply so the room would get warm and cool a little more than most rooms we've stayed in.There is no access from the northbound side of Rte.77, so you have to go past the motel and make a U-turn. This was not terribly difficult, but it was a nuisance. Shower regulation was difficult and, once regulated, could change temperature on you rather quickly at random. Guess someone else was affecting the water flow. Lastly, one day we came back from sightseeing to find the room had not been cleaned. When I asked about it at the desk as I picked up more towels and toilet paper, the clerk said she's make a note to housekeeping. No apology. Breadfast was OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

On arrival good welcome from helpful staff at reception, requested room towards the back as road very noisy. On third floor but only 1 elevator to serve whole complex. Room adequate but walls to next door very thin and could hear conversations and TV very clearly, also cooking smells. Nice pool area and well tended gardens. Good breakfast with hot choice. Waffle machine excellent.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Quality Inn is in a good location and the grounds are beautiful. It is exceptionally clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the linens were very nice. It has a nice pool and hot tub and the lounges around the pool were very comfortable and plentiful to accommodate a large number of guests. Each room had a nice clean mini-fridge and microwave. During the week, on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, they have a happy hour during which snacks are available. There were chicken wings, as well as chips and salsa or nacho cheese fondue. There were also healthy cut up vegetables and dip. The cooler had beer, wine, and soft drinks during that time, all at no charge. The breakfast was extensive, with eggs prepared different ways, hash browns, biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage links, plus all the other breakfast things like cereal, waffles, bagels, yogurt, etc. There was a variety of juices, as well as milk, coffee, cocoa, and much more. The eating area was spacious and there was an attendant to keep things filled and the tables clean. Excellent for the traveler and all at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the stairway, and it was very loud with people going up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills

Address: 7411 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson features 155 carefully styled guestrooms and suites, a beautiful resort-style pool complete with umbrellas and lounge chairs, a heated swimming pool, a comfortable hot tub, an enjoyable putting green fun for children and adults alike and a delightful hot breakfast buffet, as well as an evening Happy Hour, served in our atrium. Tucson is an unusual oasis getaway complete with Southwest style entertainment, culture and architecture. Explore Tucson's unusual downtown and historic district or check out Tohoho Chul Park, located adjacent to the hotel, Biosphere 2 and the Rodeo! For active travelers, enjoy the plentiful recreation the scenic mountains offer or enjoy a vigorous cycling adventure through the captivating desert. Red Lion Inn & Suites is also ideal for the extended stay traveler as select suites feature a fully furnished kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Tucson
Quality Inn And Suites
Country Inn Tucson
Tucson Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.