We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property borders Saguaro NP with beautiful mountain views and good hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Kettle Falls, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Property borders Saguaro NP with beautiful mountain views and good hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

We stayed in one of the newly available rooms for two nights. The room was clean. The photos of the views and the wildlife on their website are the real deal. The views look out on sonoran desert-scape with beautiful mountains. The property literally shares the boundary with the national park. The access road into the property may appear rough to some but just take it slow and remember that it is taking you to a quiet, tucked away location. We saw three javalina during an evening walk. We were able to get some wonderful photos of cacti. During the day we hiked out the back door and up a wash into the park and then up to a peak. The hosts are gracious and easy to talk with and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. One morning we had black rice with coconut milk with some fruit and yogurt on the side - delightful!

To sum it up: The owner has lived in this place for around 30 years and knows and loves his home and enjoys sharing it with others.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
43
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Difficult to book from the UK as the owner only accepts cash & cheques & UK cheques come in sterling! But well worth it when we got there. Only 5 minutes off road; owner very helpful & accurate with directions from Phoenix. Lovely quirky place in the desert. Large clean room, terrace facing sunset. Interesting breakfasts, different every day. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Liked — Clean but very different
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

I stayed at The Crickethead Inn this past spring. This is a very unique place and is not for everyone. It is situated miles off the main road in the desert and is very earthy crunchy. What I mean by this is that the accommodations are very rustic. If you don't like rattle snakes, desert rats, javalinas (wild pigs) etc. coming right up to your door and in some cases into your room, then this is not the place for you. The owners were very nice and are accustomed to living in the desert amongst all the native creatures. I would only recommend this place if you don't mind sharing your space with the desert creatures. This Inn is not for everyone! On a positive note, the scenery and the sunrises and sunsets on the mountains are spectacular!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

We loved it, but I don't want to say too much about it or I'm afraid it will be all booked up the next time I want to go. Frankly, we could have just stayed there and been well-entertained by the wildlife and the peace and quiet with no need to even go see the sights! The host was also very entertaining and happily shared info with us when he knew our interests.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

The Crickethead Inn is miles from the ordinary. It can be tricky to find, if you come late in the evening, but well worth it. One must go through the Saguaro National Park West before making a turn onto a dirt road that weaves and winds around other properties before reaching the gate to the Crickethead Inn. We got a great desert experience as the property abuts the National Park land. There were many birds and we heard coyote. Usually there are javelina as well, but we didn't see the mysterious animal.

The views from the patio were fantastic and all sorts of wildlife come to the watering hole. Birdwatchers can see a large variety of birds from hummingbirds to hawks by just sitting on the patio. The most frequent visitors were the Gambel's quail and doves as well as desert wrens and Pyrrhuloxia. Sunsets were awesome as they light the nearby hills red. One morning, we had a great hike around the backyard.

The room was spacious and the breakfasts were fantastic. Though the inn may see remote, there is a gas station and diner no more than a couple miles away. Another nice thing is that it is fairly close to I-10 and if you continue on Ina Road past the interstate, you'll find plenty of stores and restaurants. It was a perfect starting place to get to the many state and national parks as well as other attactions. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York. New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2003

I LOVED THIS PLACE!!! It could not have been more perfect! The host was amazing - the breakfasts were fantastic. it was a home from home except better. I fell in love with Arizona here - my PERFECT DESERT B AND B EXPERIENCE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2002

We knew we were going to experience the sonoran desert as soon as we turned off Picture Rocks Roadonto the driveway that leads to the Crickethead Inn.After about a mile of twists, turns, and stunning views we came opon the Crickethead Inn Property.
Right in the desert, we remarked to each other.A beautiful desert dwelling, surrounded by the desert. The property is adorned with both potted and existing plants of local origin. The desert comes "right to your door".The wildlife visits the property regularly. We saw and heard many birds. Javelinas,
we identified two groups, totalling 15, were observed from 15 feet away.We loved the desert experience and will return to the Crickethead Inn. The accomodations were excellent. The Innkeeper has great tastes in fabric , furniture , and comfort. We were amazed at the quiteness and serenity that we experienced. Breakfast was wonderful. The kitchen is an experience in itsself, even without the food.
The food is awesome, prepared fresh and hot as you sit. What a way to start the day.

Thank you Michael Lord for creating this experience for us

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.