We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B close to park, great for birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B close to park, great for birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our first time at the Crickethead. We chose it because it was close to both entrances to Saguaro National Park West. The room was very comfortable and clean, the water pressure in the shower was great, and the area was quiet. Our hosts made us comfortable, and went above and beyond by providing an old cooler to take with us to our next destination so we could keep our food cold. Now for the really good stuff: the birds, mammals, lizards, and other nature abound at the B&B, and the breakfasts are delicious. Every morning and evening we sat on the patio and watched several desert species come in for water. Our favourite breakfast was the layered French toast with apricots. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
56
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was looking on Google Earth for a place right next to the National Park, which was the main reason we went to Tucson. This was so close that we took a walk after breakfast following a track, and were in the park in a few minutes! The room was comfortable but you wouldn't want to spend much time inside . . . the porches are so nice, even when it was raining (and it was raining hard the day we were there!). We also enjoyed exploring the park and the desert museum. Breakfast was served in the big kitchen, and everybody is around the table - there are three rooms and you are likely to meet some friendly people who enjoy the wilderness and wildlife in this unique desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Read their webpage and the reviews and see if this place is for you - it may or may not be. This was our first time, and we hope to return. Many of the guests we met were repeat visitors. Lots of birders. Maybe that's how to evaluate Crickethead Inn. . . if you are a birder-type or hiking-type or nature-lover-type, this is the place for you. From our porch there were coyotes howling, great horned owls hooting, a gila woodpecker nesting, and javelinas grunting. Pretty cool!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Last month was our fifth time vacationing here with wonderful hosts Wayan and Mike. This B and B is for those who find solitude in nature and look for a different cultural experience. The decor is authentic from Indonesia and Bali which gives a solid, decorative atmosphere. By the way, the beds are just perfect for a good night's sleep.
If you are wondering about the breakfast, you will be astounded by the variety and delicious start to your day. Rice from Bali is the best.
You can grill a meal on their outdoor grill, and there is a refrigerator for your use on the patio outside your room. Your hosts have brought back from their trips some
wonderful
ceramics, textiles and jewelry for their in-house gift shop. Your first impression may bring to mind a bit of funkiness, but once you get into the "experience" you will loose yourself in a true vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were searching for a spring get-a-way from the Pacific NW rain to some sun and blue sky in a natural desert setting and we found it at Crickethead inn. Thanks to Wayan and Mike our hosts we had a marvelous 5 days, just wish it was longer. We knew we were in the right place before we got there. As we drove down the one lane, 1/2 mile rocky driveway we were greeted by the natural desert surroundings and breathtaking mountain view. The Crickethead Inn is literally at the end-of-the-road next to the Saguaro National Park west district boundary. No pretense here. Our hosts were informally friendly and sincere and genuinely happy people. Wayan reassured me she would accommodate my special needs diet. Her Balinese cooking was a special treat and worked out perfectly. SHE IS AN EXCELLENT COOK! Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable with very nice beds for sleeping and napping. We especially liked that there was no TV in the room - we were here for the desert experience and Crickethead Inn was our oasis of sanity. As some have stated in the reviews before, desert wildlife and sounds abound. We enjoyed the yips of the coyotes outside our door in the evenings, and the many birds and wildlife activity around the grounds during the day. Hike from the Inn grounds or within a 10 to 30 minute drive. Good restaurants within 20 minutes away. The gift shop of Balinese handcrafted items was an added treat! All in all a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the little cottage, privately situated away from the main lodge. We had a beatiful room, gorgeous and comfy Idoneisan carved bed, great shower, large main room, heater for the cool evenings, porch to sit on and a view to feast your eyes on. The breakfasts were delicious, the hosts were warm, fun, smart, and cool. We loved being able to ramble about the desert without having to get into our car. We came to visit family in the area, but wished we had had more time just to hang out in the serenity of this beautiful place. Really, really special - and we travel A LOT - this is in our top five places for the rare combination of great nature, comfort and perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose this B&B for its location and we were not disappointed. It is located on the edge of Saguaro National Park West. Surrounded by wonderful desert views. Shortly after arriving we went for a hike. Walked off the back porch, a short distance duck under a wire fence and you’re in the park. We walked along the saguaro cactus; saw no one but the javelinas with their babies and a beautiful sunset turning all the rocks red.

B&B a little hard to find, be sure to follow the directions and you’ll be fine. It’s a1/2 mile drive on a desert lane to the house. (Our small economy car had no problems, no big ruts in road.)

This B&B is not fancy, a bit remote and rustic, the guest room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. Wonderful location and beautiful sunsets. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable.

I would definitely recommend to friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
14.4 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
5.9 mi away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#16 of 53 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
27.5 mi away
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
9.8 mi away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#15 of 53 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.