We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonds, Wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you love the wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent three nights with wife, sister and brother in-law. Couldnt get enough of the birds, deer and javelina in the "backyard". Mike and Wayan were great, flexible hosts. Rooms are plenty comfortable and the breakfasts were top notch. Trully enjoyable and relaxing. I look forward to going again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
55
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is not the place for everyone, but for us - we loved it. Unique doesn't seem to quite capture it, but if you want a typical hotel or B&B experience with all the usual amenities - this is not for you. The road alone is a challenge, unique to almost any other place you could stay! I am so glad someone else mentioned on here to not go in the dark your first time out there. The signs to find the place are very good, but unless you are familiar with this terrain and area, being there for the first time in the dark would not be a good idea. We loved being so far out in the desert and enjoyed the other guests we met while there. Coming from the East Coast, we were up early and got to enjoy the quiet of the desert and watch/listen as it woke up. Memories I will treasure. If you are up for unique and want an experience you'll get no where else - this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
612 reviews 612 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Out of the way on an unpaved road, this B&B is a refreshing escape from glitzy resorts. Furnished with many Indonesian pieces and textiles, our room was large and the bath done in lovely tilework. A front patio for watching birds in the morning and a back patio for looking at the mountains in the evening, sharing with our family in the other rooms, were a welcome respite after a long hike. Our hosts were welcoming and outgoing but were there for us rather than in our face. Breakfast was served in the kitchen and a good combination of healthful foods. Coffee was available earlier in case your biological clock demanded it. If you are not looking for golf greens, swimming pools or casinos, this is the best place on earth.

Room Tip: There are three rooms together for sharing the patios if you have a large party and a remote site of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you're the kind of person who likes simple elegance, nature in its purest state, and multi-cultural hosts who are both delightful to talk to and discreet and self-effacing as the keepers of any paradise should be, you will LOVE the Crickethead Inn. The first time I made my way down the charming, saguaro-lined dirt road I found myself wondering where I was going and had doubts about where I might end up. Once this seasoned traveler passed through the beautiful garden and opened the magic door, he knew he was in one of those places that are rare jewels. Wayan and Mike make you feel completely at home. The rooms are beautifully and simply appointed. Wayan's breakfasts with flavors from her native Bali are amazing. Perhaps, however, the factor that makes this place utterly superlative is the feeling Wayan and Mike succeed in conveying that you are in your own home for a few days: comfort and beauty, smiles but no invasive talking, plenty of corners and haphazardly-strewn chairs on the patios and in the garden from which the visitor can contemplate the real protagonist of this show: the Sonoran Desert. Your hosts know this, and they allow you to experience it on your own, the way you would a sublime work of art, a piece of music floating out of a concert hall, or a dazzling landscape you unexpectedly come upon while lost somewhere in the desert. This is one of three or four places in the world of which I would say to a friend: "you gotta go there. Don't miss it!"

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you're looking for a unique experience this is it! Crickethead is set off the main road and backed up to Saguaro National Park. You can hike to the foothills right in the "back yard" or at the nearby park. The outdoor patios are a great place to relax and watch birds and javalinas come to enjoy a meal. In the bright starry nights you can listen to the coyotes howl. The guest rooms reflect Mike and Wayan's love of all things Bali. You are also welcome in the main house, and if you wish, Wayan may teach you how to play the saron gantung from her native Bali. Wayan concocts incredible breakfasts, and we enjoyed conversations with other guests each morning. Mike is a great host with considerable knowledge of things to see in the area. All in all and unexpected pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The bumpy dirt drive up to Crickethead is just a test to see if you are the sort of people who would enjoy this B&B. Our room was comfortable and beautiful with a brick floor, lovely fabrics, and carved woods. Towels and sheets have been dried outside in the Arizona sun. With a patio and a porch to sit out on, you could spend hours looking at the desert and wildlife (the Javelina had 2 new babies!) If the outdoors are a bit "untidy", it is easily overlooked because of the natural beauty and genuine kindness of the hosts. There is much to experience in the Tucson area, but we were happy to return each day to our "home" at Crickethead. There are good restaurants and groceries close by, but none as good as Crickethead breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Incredibly peaceful stay at the Crickethead-- only sounds were birds and coyotes! Walls are thick so you can't hear your neighbors, bed comfortable, lovely decor and fluffy towels. The hosts are friendly and interesting and we enjoyed the breakfast conversations with them and other guests, even though we're not usually B&B/morning people. Many outdoor areas to sit and relax, a fridge for guest use, and a nearby Safeway for snacks and beer. Affordable too, unlike a lot of the places in the Tucson area. Wish we had stayed more than two nights!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9480 W. Picture Rocks Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.