We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast
5312 S Civano Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85747 (Formerly Shoppe at Civano B&B Inn and Gift Shop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed in the Tucsony Suite and loved it! Very nice Inn Keepers! The room was large, with a huge bathroom and walk-in closet. The B&B is located in a newer Adobe type village with town-houses. The room shares a common area with two other rooms on the top floor of the town-house. I was the only occupant so that was nice. The common area has a coffe/tea maker, microwave, toaster and assorted breakfast foods. Three out of the four nights I stayed there, the inn keepers delivered home made cookies, very tasty! The room has a refrigerator but unlike hotels where you get charged for any item that you remove, all of the items were part of the room rate. There was water, orange and apple juice, milk for the cereal, butter and cream cheese for the english muffins and bagles and yogurt. Very nice touch! Felt like I was at home. The B&B is located on the outskirts of town so you'll need a vehicle. Takes about 30 minutes or so to get down-town. The bed has a very firm mattress, slept very well. It was quiet and very relaxing. There is a flat-screen TV with lots and lots of channels for your viewing pleasures and this super-comfortable recliner. I highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the Tuscony Suite but can highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Karen and I spent four wonderful evenings at this splendid B & B, just five miles from our home here in Tucson. Our house was given over to our kids and Mother, so their stay was un-cluttered and not relegated to sleeping on floors! Civano is a favourite place of ours, having an outstanding nursery and yoga center. We'd recommend this B & B to anyone!
[---]

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Have stayed here (coming from Seattle area) at least once a year for the past 4 years. Very close to my daughter & her family (about 1.5 miles). Relatively close to freeway & airport (but far enough away no jet noises) & any shopping we needed to do. Rooms were clean & adjoining rooms quiet. Great neighborhood with walking areas & friendly people. Love the fact it is a "green" community & pretty much self-sustaining. Enjoy our conversations with Alan & Adele; wonderful hosts. Will always come here for our trips to Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our experience with Shoppe at Civano B&B has been over the past 4 years. Our family moved into the Rita Ranch area and this location is perfect for our stay when visiting them. Very comfortable and quiet rooms and neighborhood. The "Innkeepers" are so nice and accomodating, we feel as though we are visiting "other" family. We HIGHLY reccommend Shoppe at Civano B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were fortunate enough to experience the gracious hospitality of Alan and Adele at Shoppe at Civano when visiting Tuscon for the Bead and Gem Show. The accommodation was lovely, clean, in a very peaceful part of town and the hosts very accommodating.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would stay there again and highly recommend staying at Shoppe at Civano if you are planning a visit to Tuscon :o)

Lisa Grant

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor accessible via stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay here when we went to Tucson for the Gem and Mineral Show. The apartment was very comfortable. The kitchen was nicely outfitted with coffee, tea and a wide choice of breakfast food. Alan and Adele were very thoughtful. They asked in advance if we wanted anything special or had any food allergies. When we arrived, we were welcomed by fresh out of the oven (yummy) cookies. Adele was very helpful in directing us towards great places for dinner and telling us about the neighborhood. The area is quiet so we slept very well. The Gem and Mineral show is quite exhausting, so the best part of my stay was to come back to our cosy place and put our feet up! The living room was very comfortable - perfect for exhausted visitors.
We sadly had to leave early so we never had a chance to explore the neighborhood, but we certainly will on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My Mom and I stayed at the Shoppe at Civano Bed @ Breakfast during the Tuscon Gem Show. We booked very last minute but Civano was great and accommodated us. Alan greeted us when we arrived and sowed us our beautiful room. We stayed in the Bunkhouse Suite and you can tell they put a lot of time and energy into the decor and feel of the room.

We ended up chatting with another guest who said he'd been staying at Civano for years and loves it. We ended up loving it, too! We only stayed two nights but both nights were very comfortable. When we weren't at the gem show we were walking around the neighborhood, even toured a few model homes because we really enjoyed the vibe of the area!

After our stay we have decided we would love to come back year after year for the gem show and stay at Civano if we have the opportunity! And anytime in Tucson I will bypass the roadside hotels and go straight to Civano! You can't beat it for the price and hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5312 S Civano Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85747 (Formerly Shoppe at Civano B&B Inn and Gift Shop)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Exquisitely Decorated Suites and Gift Shop in the Green Community of Civano, Tucson, AZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Sol Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.