We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 West Grant Road, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to have a suite in this beautiful hotel. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a great view, overlooking a gorgeous pool! They had plenty of pillows, which was nice because I always need 3-4 just for myself! A very nice hotel for the price! Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We appriciate the positive feedback and will share your comments with our staff. Once again, thank you for choosing us... We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I recently had to stay twice at this hotel in the past 2 months on road trips and both times were excellent experiences. The most recent trip was due to the passing of my father so on the way back from Texas we decided to stop by here again as our last experience was a good one. This time however John the manager went out of his way to accommodate us. He allowed us an earlier check in time and later check out time combined with what felt like sincere compassion for our situation making life coming back home just a little bit easier for me and my family. I just wanted to thank John for going above and beyond and making us feel welcome. We are now truly fans of Holiday Inn or at the very least the one John happens to run. Thanks again John.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thnak you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We appriciate your positive feedback and John will be recognized for his outstanding service. Thanks again for choosing us; we hope to see you again next time you come through Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a brief stay here while going across states for the holidays. The rain and dark roads had won, we needed sleep. I used my trip a and got a good rate for the room. Parking was right out front and free, there were some decent restaurants in the parking lot. There were at least two gas stations nearby and some fast food options right off the freeway. Our room was clean, comfortable and there was a complimentary breakfast, coffee and tea. This was a good restful place for a road trip. although it was late when we checked in, the lights were on and the front desk was alert for new guest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasunsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive comment about your recent stay with us. We appriciate the feedback and hope to see you again next time you come to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you have come to Tucson for winter cycle training, this is a great place to stay. You can ride the Gates Pass /McCain Loop from the hotel, and get 32 miles and 3000 feet of climbing; a great way to start the day. The staff is friendly, accommodating, and know the area very well. The rooms are large enough for two people, a bike box, and your bike. There is also a mini fridge. Breakfast is included with the room; however it is the basic (standard), Holiday Inn Express fair, and fruit is a bit lacking. You may want to consider going to the IHOP, a 2 minute walk to the West Grant Road location. There is a Safeway (5 min by car), and many dining options within a 15 minute drive.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are easy access if you have a lot of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjriccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for posting a great review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff and location. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just visiting Tucson for one night and this was a good choice. We are members of the "executive club". I think that's the name, so we were upgraded to a great room. We needed a couple of things and the front desk was quick to bring them right up. Beds were comfy and the rooms were quiet. The constant coffee and fresh fruit in the lobby is a great touch!
The breakfast was a disappointment though. I would have rather have fewer choices done well for example a good selection of fruit, croissants and coffee over the cheesy eggs, microwaved sausage and a partially working toaster. The juice selection was good and the fresh pancakes a hit with the kids.
We would stay here again when in Tucson.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey about your recent stay with our hotel. We are happy to hear that, for the most part, you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is currently in the process of updating our breakfast menu and I will pass along your recommendations. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us while in Tucson. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh a couple of times, this one was a bit of a disappointment. The room was better - being newer. However it was light on the little extras that the Edinburgh one had, and we had an executive room. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. Breakfast was awful. All microwaved prepackaged food. Cheese omelettes were sickly and the sweet buns were very sweet. Probably the best bit was the cereals and pancakes. We probably should have gone to the IHOP next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey about your recent stay with us. We appriciate the feedback regarding our breakfast. I am sorry to hear that it was not satisfying for you. Please contact the hotel prior to your next arrival so that we can set up an alternative. Thank you again for your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I never passed a staff member without them giving me a big smile and a sincere hello. Stayed in one of the suites. The room was very clean. Hot cinnamon rolls, at breakfast, helped to start the day off just right! They have an automatic pancake machine that generates 2 pretty tasty pancakes. I just wished that they had offered potatoes and that salsa had been available for the eggs. Since the hotel is right off the expressway, and not too far from downtown, it's a convenient place to stay in Tucson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank service197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the majority of the breakfast. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#30 of 131 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
6.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson

Address: 1564 West Grant Road, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Tucson
#38 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With the friendliest staff around, come and let us make your stay! Our new Tucson hotel is ideally situated 12 MI from the Tucson International Airport. Minutes away from downtown Tucson and the University of Arizona campus.Families will appreciate our Tucson hotel's close proximity to local attractions, like the Reid Park Zoo, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson Studios and 4th Avenue shopping. Guests of our Tucson hotel can spend a day strolling through beautiful downtown Tucson or take a short, scenic drive to the Saguaro National Park, home to Saguaro cacti.With convenient access to companies such as IBM, Raytheon and the Arizona National Guard, our Tucson hotel's choice location is near the Tucson Convention Center and ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our on-site business center offers printing, copying, and faxing services for your convenience, as well. During your stay at one of the very best Tucson, Arizona hotels, be sure to relax in the heated, outdoor pool and whirlpool, guest barbecue grill, utilize the well-equipped fitness center and surf the web on our free, high-speed, wireless internet access. In the mornings, you can also enjoy our complimentary, hot breakfast featuring 100% Arabic Smart Roast coffee and our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Tucson hotel's deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing