We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 West Grant Road, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 127 hotels in Tucson
West Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Access is just off the highway conveniently located just down IHOP. Our room was clean and very comfortable. They do lock up the breakfast area in the evening, but have coffee near the front desk. My wife is a tea dinner and there was no tea there, had to ask for some. Not disappointed with the accommodations. If you have stayed at a H I X in the past you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
16
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
salem, or
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed to make our 7 day stay very enjoyable. The staff was friendly & helpful. The continental breakfast was great - lots of variety & well stocked. Our room was very clean & the beds were comfortable. There was a walkway at the back of the hotel for my morning walk. Safe place to exercise. There is also a QT Market across the parking lot. Good place to get a $1 ice cream cone. There was also an exercise room & a pool which we never used. Chiles restaurant is also across the pkg lot. Lots of shopping & restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which was convenient, but our A/C Unit was pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After driving for most of the day, the kiddos wanted out of the car and into a heated pool as fast as possible. I usually opt to stay and little mom and pop motels, but I couldn't deny their request since they had been so good in the car all day, so we opted to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Tucson. The kids had a great time swimming and getting some of their energy out, while the grown ups lounged in the comfortable family room and relaxed. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable (although pricier than I would like), and the free continental breakfast the next morning was way above average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel is nicely maintained and conveniently located but turning left on Grant Road is difficult during rush hours and although you can run or bike in the "dry riverbed" which is nice, there area around the hotel feels a bit uncomfortable. The breakfasts are "holiday inn" quality but who can complain of free breakfast. Staff even provides "music" by singing and humming while putting items out, distracting for my husband although I didn't notice it when I breakfasted an hour or so later than he.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights, hotel is very clean and close to highway, with NO noise from highway. The free breakfast is adequate, nothing special, toast, cereal, yogurt, grit and some hot food. Coffee is barely passable. Bring your own! Only issue we had was another guest who left a happy dog in the next room for several hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mom2OneBoston,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the cleanliness of our property and the convenient location of our hotel to the highway. We are sorry you were not satisfied with our complimentary coffee and also apologize for the neighboring noise you have experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Tucson, AZ.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here six nights during the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show In February and we were really pleased. The hotel is in a really good location right off of I-10 and that made it really easy to get around Tucson to all the different shows. The rooms were clean and well furnished. Our check-in was efficient and friendly. When we got to our room, our refrigerator would not work and within minutes someone came and brought us another one which he said was too loud so he got the other one working and we never had another problem. All of this happened in less than 30 minutes so they are really responsive to your needs. This fellow is a real asset to the hotel. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulysses, Kansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Was very satistied in our stay as it was very clean and tidy. Was somewhat anxious after reading other reviews but we could not complain. Excellent location and the staff was courteous and knowledge about town. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson

Address: 1564 West Grant Road, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With the friendliest staff around, come and let us make your stay! Our new Tucson hotel is ideally situated 12 MI from the Tucson International Airport. Minutes away from downtown Tucson and the University of Arizona campus.Families will appreciate our Tucson hotel's close proximity to local attractions, like the Reid Park Zoo, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson Studios and 4th Avenue shopping. Guests of our Tucson hotel can spend a day strolling through beautiful downtown Tucson or take a short, scenic drive to the Saguaro National Park, home to Saguaro cacti.With convenient access to companies such as IBM, Raytheon and the Arizona National Guard, our Tucson hotel's choice location is near the Tucson Convention Center and ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our on-site business center offers printing, copying, and faxing services for your convenience, as well. During your stay at one of the very best Tucson, Arizona hotels, be sure to relax in the heated, outdoor pool and whirlpool, guest barbecue grill, utilize the well-equipped fitness center and surf the web on our free, high-speed, wireless internet access. In the mornings, you can also enjoy our complimentary, hot breakfast featuring 100% Arabic Smart Roast coffee and our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Tucson hotel's deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.