We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Stallion Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added White Stallion Ranch to your Saves list
White Stallion Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Family Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We did not know what to expect when we planned this vacation, but were so pleasantly surprised. Each year we try to find a place to take our handicapped daughter, and since she likes riding, we chose W.S.R. What a delightful place. All three of us enjoyed the ranch, the riding, the meals and meeting the friendly visiting families and superb staff. Thanks James, Laura, and Jonathon for coaching our girl so well. We hope to return sometime with our extended family who all drooled after hearing our tales of the fun week. A special thank you to Russell who made it all happen so easily.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
177
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on spring break with 2 kids, ages 10 and 8. We booked based on Trip Advisor recommendations. Every aspect of the ranch exceeded our expectations. A driver met us at airport. Ride to ranch waa short. Check in was easy. Resort is beautiful! The grounds are stunning. The service was impeccable. The food was varied and much better than I expected for buffet style. We were novice riders, but we learned quickly and there are a variety of rides for all levels. The evening entertainment, from music to art to dancing is so much fun. This is an absolutely perfect family vacation spot especially for active families.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I want to start this review by saying the ranch is very cool, and the history behind it is really a testament to the ranch. It is family run by the same family since the 60's and it is a very well organized and maintained. I booked the trip for my family after lots of research with the expectation of more freedom when it came to riding. I was very frustrated with how organized everything was. For a family who likes adventure and knows how to ride horses THIS IS NOT THE PLACE! My 9 and 11 year old refused to do any slow rides because they were bored after 1 and the fast rides only had about 7 minutes of actual loping in an hour ride which was single file. I was aware there was no cattle herding, but I was sold on the team steer penning which we had never tried. We were only able to do it twice during our 5 day stay ( per the schedule) for 1 hour each time. We enjoyed that the most, due to the adrenaline rush and excitement of it.

We met people who are very White Stallion Ranch loyal and come back multiple times. They like seeing the same people every year and letting their kids go loose and not having to worry about them. Those are great things about the ranch. We will try another dude ranch with more freedom as far as the rides and cattle herding most likely with more diverse scenery.

Since we had never been to Tucson, we were not aware that due to the topography of the terrain, it was all butt to nose and single file rides because of the cactus. I understand that Arizona is dessert, but parts of it still have more diverse landscape. So after about 2 days of flat, mountain, slow, and fast rides it all starts to look the same.

In a nutshell.....if you are going with Grandparents, young kids, want to relax and just be on a horse, this is your place! The horses are terrific (we all really loved the ones we got assigned to all week) and very well trained, the staff and wranglers are awesome, the food is good, the bar and happy hour are fun, and it's always nice to get away. If you like loping, more diverse scenery, seeing wildlife, less structured, and more adventure....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsrcowgirl, Public Relations Manager at White Stallion Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Allie,

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our riding. While you made us aware of your initial disappointment that you could not relive your past dude ranch experience by "running and running all over after cattle in open country," we were very surprised to hear that your children were unhappy as well. They actually told a Staff Member that this was their "best vacation ever." Your daughter went on several slow rides with her father and we heard nothing negative from either of them.

We do have a huge number of very experienced riders who are longtime repeat guests who understand that in our lush desert filled with cactus, it is important to stay on the trail for both the horses' and the riders' safety. Our guests also appreciate that because of our terrain we are able to offer more fast riding than many ranches.

We also want to clarify that we offer 2 All Day rides per week (you went on one of them) that are 71/2 - 8 hours of riding. Of course, when traveling over 20 miles, it is not reasonable for the horse to lope more than we do. We also offer 2 Half Day rides that are generally about 31/2 hours. One of those rides has a significant amount of loping. The other has less because of the mountain terrain it covers.

We are sorry that your vacation schedule did not allow for all three Team Penning afternoons.

We believe your vacation time is precious and we wish you had accepted our offer at the beginning of your stay to help you find a different ranch to enjoy. Thanks again for visiting, we really enjoyed meeting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the ranch for 6 days and had a fabulous time. The staff were terrific and we had a great time riding. We were quite surprised how many visitors had horses of their own and were there on holidays, but I think that is a testament to the quality of the horses and riding here. My kids loved being able to groom their horses and the wrangles were very accommodating. In addition to riding, we went on a terrific guided hike up Panthers Peak, loved the team penning and practicing roping, and really enjoyed the other entertainment (a roping show, cowboy songs by the campfire, star gazing, and a sample of real rodeo events). It was a great vacation and we would recommend this ranch highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Last minute booking to take the family 1/4 way round the world to ride horses! And what a trip it was the Ranch is truly brilliant and far exceeded my expectations. As a complete horse back novice prior to the trip I was expecting to do a lot of sitting around the pool whilst the rest of my family galloped off into the desert. Not so, I was given a lovely gentle and very large horse to try and tempt me into the saddle, it worked. Within 2 days I was loping out with the family, riding up mountain trails and trotting off into the desert!
The horses were brilliant and well suited to each rider, good job WSR. All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and there interaction with the guests showed this. The kids were in there element grooming and washing the horses down and then straight into the pool and hot tub. I felt the ranch was a very safe environment both on horseback and in general, which was a slight worry before setting off.
The accommodation was great and spacious enough for a family of 4, clean and comfortable although not much time is spent in your room as there are too many other things to do.
The food, well that was excellent, with plenty of it and a good variety.
All the facilities on site were great and the fact you don't have to carry any money round with you was a bonus, except it was a bit too easy to spend money in the wonderful shop!
All in all a truly brilliant holiday and on that the whole family will remember for a long time, or at least until we go back!!

Room Tip: Stop stones getting into the carpet, take your shoes/boots off at the door!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at a few other ranches, herding cattle and riding into challenging mountain trails, so we weren't sure how we would like the riding at the White Stallion. Between the choices of slow or fast, short or all day rides and the lessons and team penning, we had plenty to get our heart rate up. The staff is impressive, knowing who we were after first meeting (and sometimes even before - how do they do that?). The grounds and rooms are beautiful and trails well maintained, the amenities plentiful, the food is excellent. There is literally something for everyone here. I love that they have fast as well as slow rides, lessons and team penning (quite thrilling!), as well as activities off-horseback. Evening entertainment makes the day complete after a relaxing Happy Hour and tasty dinner. I can't wait for our grandchildren to get a little older and bring them out for a family trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from yet another fantastic trip to WSR.

Everything was perfect yet again, the True family who own this place have outdone themselves yet again, all the staff are amazing and we have become firm friends with quite a few of them.

Not much else I can say from my last visit except keep up the fantastic work and a huge thank you to Russell, Steven, David, Michael and Kristin True, all the office staff especially Nikki, Cheryl in the gift shop - stop letting me spend money in there haha, all the staff that clean, all the staff that cook and look after us especially Alanda, Kerri, Felicia and Marissa and of course all the fantastic wranglers - James, Matt, Jeremiah, Casey, Caitlin and Laura H.

See you all in August xxx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
14.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
29.5 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#15 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
18.6 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
15.3 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Stallion Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Stallion Ranch

Address: 9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Stallion Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating our 50th Anniversary with the True Family ownership and our 75th anniversary as Guest Ranch. Known for exceptional guest service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your White Stallion Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Stallion Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Stallion Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.